Smooth wins Station of the Year
Posted by
Smooth wins Station of the Year

100.4 Smooth FM has scooped the Station of the Year title at the 2006 GMG Radio Awards this weekend. The internal award recognises the station going from worst to first in the northwest market in such a short space of time, and an amazing year for ratings and revenue.

Smooth FM beat off competition from other stations around the group including previous winners Real Radio Scotland.

John Myers, Chief Executive of GMG Radio told the northwest station has set the standard for the rest of the year for other stations in the group to follow: 'It won because few could argue about their impressive audience figures this year, alongside impressive revenue growth and a team spirit that is hard to beat.'

Managing Director for Smooth FM Northwest, Roy Bennett collected the award along with the entire station at a special ceremony on Saturday Night. He told "The award caps off a phenomenally successful year for the station, but our apologies go to Ronan Keating for brushing him off stage as the team and I stormed the stage to collect the trophy. It was an amazing, euphoric moment!"

Mid-Morning presenter Dave Lincoln also took home a group award for 'Best Presenter' for his daily 10am till 2pm show on the station.

Got a story? [email protected] or call 0871 900 1213

Hear more radio industry news like this at the top of the hour on inRadio - the radio industry's very own radio station. Listen now in a new window whilst you continue reading RadioToday or press play below.

0 0 297 04 December, 2006 Industry News 12:01 am 200612 Monday, December 4th, 2006

Looking for something else?


Subscribe to our emails to stay informed about the latest radio news and products delivered straight to your inbox.

Related Posts

No related posts were found
WorldDAB General Assembly 2016 - November 9, 2016 at 10:00 am ()
Student Radio Awards - November 10, 2016 at 6:00 pm (The O₂ 10 Entertainment Avenue, London, SE10 0DY, England)
BBC Gillard Awards - November 10, 2016 at 7:00 pm (Newcastle)
Audio Production Awards - November 23, 2016 at 6:00 pm (BFI Southbank, Belvedere Road, London)
Radio TechCon 2016 - November 28, 2016 at 10:00 am (The Arts Theatre, 6-7 Great Newport St, London WC2H 7JB)
Salon de la Radio - January 29, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
Salon de la Radio - January 30, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
Salon de la Radio - January 31, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
More events