RadioToday at Hospital Awards
Posted by
RadioToday at Hospital Awards

The annual Hospital Broadcasting Awards were held last night at the Park Inn, Northampton and proved once again to be a great success, recognising talent from across the UK. Nearly 300 delegates attended the event, which was hosted by BBC weather presenter Carol Kirkwood and Media Consultant Paul Robinson.

The awards were presented by a number of personalities from the world of broadcasting including BBC Radio 2’s Charles Nove and Paul Rogers, Northants 96 Breakfast presenters Jagger and Woody, Century FM presenter (Manchester) Clive Warren, Jon Godell, Editor at IRN, Sue Thearle from BBC tv Sport, Mark Warr newsreader Tyne Tees Television, James Barr, Red Dragon Radio, Neil Gardner from Channel 4 Radio and Tony Clarke from PPL.

There where over 300 entries submitted for the 11 categories up for grabs.

Organiser and HBA Vice President, Dave Nicholson MBE, told "A great evening was had by all. The judges had a difficult job in deciding the winners because of the high standard of entries, which shows the commitment the volunteers across the country, put into the work they do for their stations."

The show was broadcast live to hospital radio stations across the country.

[i]The winners were:[/i]

[b]STATION OF THE YEAR[/b] sponsored by BBC Radio 2

GOLD – Hospital Radio Perth
SILVER – Victoria Radio Network
BRONZE – Radio West Middlesex

[b]MALE PRESENTER[/b] sponsored by GCap Media

GOLD – John Murray, Victoria Radio Network
SILVER – Gerard Conway, Hillingdon Hospital Radio
BRONZE – Mike Taylor, Radio General

[b]FEMALE PRESENTER[/b] sponsored by GCap Media

GOLD – Sandy Iliff, Radio Fox
SILVER – Sheila Aly, Radio Northwick Park
BRONZE – Diane Clarke, Hospital Radio Tunbridge Wells

GOLD – Whitechapel AM
SILVER – Victoria Radio Network
BRONZE – Hospital Radio Perth

[b]SPORT OUTPUT [/b]sponsored by HBA

GOLD – Radio Cherwell
SILVER – Kingstown Radio
BRONZE – Radio Cavell

[b]SPECIALISED MUSIC[/b] sponsored by PPL

GOLD – Rugby Hospital Radio, Elvis Uncharted
SILVER – Grampian Hospital Radio, Vintage Years
BRONZE – Victoria Radio Network Blues & Stuff

[b]BEST PROMO/TRAILER[/b] sponsored by HBA

GOLD – Valley Park Radio
SILVER – Northern Air
BRONZE – Radio Cherwell

[b]SPECIAL EVENT[/b] sponsored by PPL

GOLD – Hospital Radio Perth
SILVER – Radio Redhill
BRONZE – Radio Tyneside

[b]NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR[/b] sponsored by PSquared

GOLD – Victoria Sill, Ward Radio
SILVER – Nabila Patham, Whitechapel AM
BRONZE – Lawrie Jordan, Whitechapel AM

[b]JOHN WHITNEY AWARD[/b] sponsored by The Radio Academy

Jeff Brown, Hillingdon Hospital Radio


Billy the Bug Campaign, Radio Cavell

[link=] – non-stop radio news[/link] [email protected] or call 0871 315 6 315

Hear more radio industry news like this at the top of the hour on inRadio - the radio industry's very own radio station. Listen now in a new window whilst you continue reading RadioToday or press play below.

0 0 1636 01 April, 2007 Hospital Radio News 8:49 am 20074 Sunday, April 1st, 2007

Leave a Reply

Looking for something else?


Subscribe to our emails to stay informed about the latest radio news and products delivered straight to your inbox.

Related Posts

No related posts were found
WorldDAB General Assembly 2016 - November 9, 2016 at 10:00 am ()
Student Radio Awards - November 10, 2016 at 6:00 pm (The O₂ 10 Entertainment Avenue, London, SE10 0DY, England)
BBC Gillard Awards - November 10, 2016 at 7:00 pm (Newcastle)
Audio Production Awards - November 23, 2016 at 6:00 pm (BFI Southbank, Belvedere Road, London)
Radio TechCon 2016 - November 28, 2016 at 10:00 am (The Arts Theatre, 6-7 Great Newport St, London WC2H 7JB)
Salon de la Radio - January 29, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
Salon de la Radio - January 30, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
Salon de la Radio - January 31, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
More events