Changes at Station of the Year
Posted by
Changes at Station of the Year

Recent Sony Award winning station BBC Radio Derby is revamping its weekday schedule, with Shane O'Connor taking over the breakfast show from Monday week. Shane switches from his current mid-morning slot after 5 years at the station. He's no stranger to breakfast radio in the Midlands though, having previously worked with Paul Franks to help BBC WM to its best ever breakfast Rajars.

Listeners to the station are promised a fresh, sharp and amusing sound to help them start their day in the right way, and are invited to wake up with a smile and Shane's "unique style of humour and outlook on life."

Shane tells "I'm really excited about the new challenge. 'Would you like to wake up with me?' is a line I've been using for years — now hopefully I'll get slapped less often!"

Radio Derby's Managing Editor, Simon Cornes, added: "Nobody sleeps when Shane's on so it makes perfect sense for him to take over the Breakfast Show. The new programme will have all the news and information that listeners expect along with added Shane appeal. One thing it won't be is dull."

Other changes see Andy Potter present a new early show from 5am and Aleena Naylor taking over the new-look 10am-1pm show. Alex Trelinski then starts his afternoon show an hour earlier at 1pm and Ross Fletcher has the round-up of the day's news from 4pm. Sally Pepper is moved to weekends in the Saturday 9am-12noon slot.

It's just a month since Radio Derby picked up the Station of the Year (300,000 to 1 million listeners category) at the Sony Radio Academy Awards.

[link=] – non-stop radio news[/link] [email protected] or call 0871 315 6 315

Hear more radio industry news like this at the top of the hour on inRadio - the radio industry's very own radio station. Listen now in a new window whilst you continue reading RadioToday or press play below.

0 0 446 30 May, 2007 Industry News 2:02 pm 20075 Wednesday, May 30th, 2007

Leave a Reply

Looking for something else?


Subscribe to our emails to stay informed about the latest radio news and products delivered straight to your inbox.

Related Posts

No related posts were found
RAJAR Q3 2016 - October 26, 2016 at 11:00 pm (London)
WorldDAB General Assembly 2016 - November 9, 2016 at 10:00 am ()
Student Radio Awards - November 10, 2016 at 6:00 pm (The O₂ 10 Entertainment Avenue, London, SE10 0DY, England)
BBC Gillard Awards - November 10, 2016 at 7:00 pm (Newcastle)
Audio Production Awards - November 23, 2016 at 6:00 pm (BFI Southbank, Belvedere Road, London)
Radio TechCon 2016 - November 28, 2016 at 10:00 am (The Arts Theatre, 6-7 Great Newport St, London WC2H 7JB)
Salon de la Radio - January 29, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
Salon de la Radio - January 30, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
More events