IRN winners announced
Posted by
IRN winners announced

GMG Radio picked up four of the nine awards in the annual IRN News Awards. Now in its sixth year, the awards celebrate high quality journalism in UK commercial radio.

The awards were presented by News at Ten anchor Julie Etchingham.

105.4 Century FM won three awards on the back of its coverage of the Rhys Jones murder. The station won Scoop of the Year for its interview with a witness who saw the gunman open fire. Sean Woods picked up the News Reporter of the Year accolade and the station also picked up Best News Programme for its Gun Crime Special.

Jon Godel, Editor of IRN said: "The entries show that commercial radio journalism is in a great place in 2008. The relationships local radio teams form with the public are key to producing great stories and these awards recognise the important role they play in the local and national news agenda."

[b]Best Sports Coverage[/b]
All the Tickets Are in the Wrong Hands – Radio City 96.7

[b]Best Funny Story[/b]
Pie Eating Championship – Dave Easson, Magic 999

[b]Scoop of the Year[/b]
Rhys Jones witness interview – 105.4 Century FM

Young Journalist of the Year[/b]
Alice Griffin, Trax FM

[b]News Reporter of the Year[/b]
Sean Woods, 105.4 Century FM

[b]Best News Programme[/b]
Gun Crime Special – 105.4 Century FM

[b]Best News Coverage[/b]
Glasgow wins 20014 Commonwealth Games bid – Radio Clyde

[b]Newsreader of the Year[/b]
Matthew Schofield – Capital FM

[b]IRN Contribution Award[/b]
Real Radio Scotland

Hear more radio industry news like this at the top of the hour on inRadio - the radio industry's very own radio station. Listen now in a new window whilst you continue reading RadioToday or press play below.

0 0 365 15 April, 2008 Industry News 2:41 pm 20084 Tuesday, April 15th, 2008

Leave a Reply

Looking for something else?


Subscribe to our emails to stay informed about the latest radio news and products delivered straight to your inbox.

Related Posts

No related posts were found
WorldDAB General Assembly 2016 - November 9, 2016 at 10:00 am ()
Student Radio Awards - November 10, 2016 at 6:00 pm (The O₂ 10 Entertainment Avenue, London, SE10 0DY, England)
BBC Gillard Awards - November 10, 2016 at 7:00 pm (Newcastle)
Audio Production Awards - November 23, 2016 at 6:00 pm (BFI Southbank, Belvedere Road, London)
Radio TechCon 2016 - November 28, 2016 at 10:00 am (The Arts Theatre, 6-7 Great Newport St, London WC2H 7JB)
Salon de la Radio - January 29, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
Salon de la Radio - January 30, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
Salon de la Radio - January 31, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
More events