Sony Nations and Regions Awarded
Posted by
Sony Nations and Regions Awarded

The winners of the Nations and Regions Awards for 2009 have been fully awarded to a number of stations with a TSA of under 300,000.

And although some awards were given out late last year, we now have a full list of all stations going forward for Station of the Year at the 2010 Sony Radio Academy Awards.

Independent local radio scooped 5 of the 11 awards, community radio stations took 4, and local BBC stations claimed 2.

Judging and awards presentations have been organised by The Radio Academy’s Branches and each Branch has awarded one Nations and Regions Award to the station that the judges feel demonstrated the most consistently outstanding output. Just one of these stations will win the Station of Year under 300,000 TSA at the Sonys in May.

And the winners are..


Moray Firth Radio (MFR)

[b]Northern Ireland[/b]

BBC Radio Foyle


[i]East Anglia[/i]
North Norfolk Radio

[i]East Midlands[/i]
Rutland Radio

Resonance 104.4 FM

[i]North East[/i]
Radio Teesdale

[i]North West[/i]
Manx Radio

Andover Sound 106.4

[i]South East[/i]
Banbury Sound

[i]South West[/i]
BBC Radio Guernsey

106.9FM WHCR

All stations were presented with their awards at various Radio Academy events over the last 6-8 weeks. In Hull, community station WHCR were very pleased with their presentation, as John Harding, Managing Director told us: “All the team at 106.9FM WHCR put a lot of time and effort into providing a local radio service for the West Hull community – we are the only radio station that can put West Hull first and we do that every day.

"It’s fantastic that the team has been recognised by the Radio Academy in this way."

Meanwhile, in Oxfordshire, Banbury Sound's Programme Controller and breakfast presenter Dale Collins said: "When we first formed 107.6 Banbury Sound our aim was to provide the area with a truly local radio station at the heart of the of the community. Winning this award is proof that we are succeeding. This is perfect Christmas present for all the staff who have worked their socks off to achieve our goals."

In Hampshire, Ian Axton, Managing Director of Andover Sound, said "This is a very special award. The judges are all respected broadcasters and for them to name Andover Sound as the best station of its kind in the Southern England is a real honour. It's a tribute to the whole team who have worked so incredibly hard to make Andover Sound the success it is. Andover is a special place and we're privileged to serve it."

[center][b]Ian Axton from Andover Sound with judge Matt Hopper[/b][/center]

Proud to have the award for the 2nd time in three years, North Norfolk Radio’s Programme Manager Graham Lewis said: “I am absolutely delighted for everyone involved with North Norfolk Radio. It is also a tribute to our loyal listeners who have clearly shown that there is a demand for true local radio here in North Norfolk.”

In Scotland Danny Gallagher, Managing Director at MFR said: “I’m delighted MFR has been recognised as a high achiever from our peers in the radio industry. My guys are consistently at the top of their game. The way we engage with our listeners, whom we love dearly is always a priority. Our entertaining and informative output delivered in our own up beat style also had a part to play. It is without doubt all down to great team work.”

Awards were not given out in Wales and the Midlands due to lack of suitable entries.

[center][b]Proud winners from Manx Radio[/b][/center]

Main picture is the team from Banbury Sound.

Hear more radio industry news like this at the top of the hour on inRadio - the radio industry's very own radio station. Listen now in a new window whilst you continue reading RadioToday or press play below.

0 0 409 19 January, 2010 Industry News 8:46 pm 20101 Tuesday, January 19th, 2010

Leave a Reply

Looking for something else?


Subscribe to our emails to stay informed about the latest radio news and products delivered straight to your inbox.

Related Posts

No related posts were found
WorldDAB General Assembly 2016 - November 9, 2016 at 10:00 am ()
Student Radio Awards - November 10, 2016 at 6:00 pm (The O₂ 10 Entertainment Avenue, London, SE10 0DY, England)
BBC Gillard Awards - November 10, 2016 at 7:00 pm (Newcastle)
Audio Production Awards - November 24, 2016 at 6:00 pm (BFI Southbank, Belvedere Road, London)
Radio TechCon 2016 - November 28, 2016 at 10:00 am (The Arts Theatre, 6-7 Great Newport St, London WC2H 7JB)
Salon de la Radio - January 29, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
Salon de la Radio - January 30, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
Salon de la Radio - January 31, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
More events