Pink Paper Award for Nicksy
Posted by
Pink Paper Award for Nicksy

Former Galaxy and Key 103 presenter Nicksy has beaten Scott Mills and Chris Evans to win Best Radio Show at the Pink Paper Awards 2011.

He took the prize for his afternoon show on Manchester community radio station Gaydio.

Radio 1's Scott Mills came second and Radio 2's Chris Evans third in the awards, voted for by readers of across the UK.

Nicksy told "Both Chris and Scott are incredible broadcasters, to be nominated alongside them was an honour, to win the category is amazing."

Gaydio is The UK’s first and only full-time FM radio station for lesbian, gay, bisexual and trans people. Although, in reality the station has a much broader appeal and is attracting listeners who are disenfranchised with the more national brands available in Manchester. Nicksy added, “I present a Manchester show and if we pick up new listeners online that’s great but the programming and music are targeted at Manchester people."

The award was the result of a vote by readers of the Pink Paper, via the website. The voting has been open since before Christmas and thousands of votes have been cast.

Pink Paper Editor in Chief, Tris Reid-Smith says: "Every year the Pink Paper Readers' Awards go from strength to strength. This year has been more competitive than ever which will make victory all the sweeter for our winners."

Nicksy hosts 3-6pm Monday to Friday on Gaydio, as well as Late Night Nicksy on Sunday evenings, which is simulcast on neighbouring community station Cheshire FM.

Hear more radio industry news like this at the top of the hour on inRadio - the radio industry's very own radio station. Listen now in a new window whilst you continue reading RadioToday or press play below.

0 0 442 11 February, 2011 People News 12:32 pm 20112 Friday, February 11th, 2011

Leave a Reply

Looking for something else?


Subscribe to our emails to stay informed about the latest radio news and products delivered straight to your inbox.

Related Posts

No related posts were found
RAJAR Q3 2016 - October 26, 2016 at 11:00 pm (London)
WorldDAB General Assembly 2016 - November 9, 2016 at 10:00 am ()
Student Radio Awards - November 10, 2016 at 6:00 pm (The O₂ 10 Entertainment Avenue, London, SE10 0DY, England)
BBC Gillard Awards - November 10, 2016 at 7:00 pm (Newcastle)
Audio Production Awards - November 23, 2016 at 6:00 pm (BFI Southbank, Belvedere Road, London)
Radio TechCon 2016 - November 28, 2016 at 10:00 am (The Arts Theatre, 6-7 Great Newport St, London WC2H 7JB)
Salon de la Radio - January 29, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
Salon de la Radio - January 30, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
More events