Hospital Radio Winners 2011
Posted by
Hospital Radio Winners 2011

The winners of the National Hospital Radio Awards 2011 have been announced during the Hospital Broadcasting Conference in Maidstone this weekend.

Clear winners of the evening were Hospital Radio Plymouth, which took the Gold for Station of the Year, and walked away with three other additional awards.

The event, which was blogged live on, saw many industry figures giving out awards, plus Prime Minister David Cameron and Radio 2 presenter Ken Bruce on video who recorded special messages for the evening.

In addition to the regular categories, special awards were given out for HBA Volunteer of the Year, won by Kieran Crowhurst of Hospital Radio Plymouth, and The John Whitney Award which was won by Patrick from Hospitalnet in Zimbabwe.

The full list of winners is below

Best Specialist Music Programme Gold = Motown, Behind the Songs – Hospital Radio Plymouth
Best Specialist Music Programme Silver = Jazz 'n' Cool – Victoria Radio Network
Best Specialist Music Programme Bronze = Musical Gems – Castle Mead Radio

Best Speech Package Gold = Durham Cathedral – Radio Tyneside Network
Best Speech Package Silver = King of the Mountain – Victoria Infirmary Radio
Best Speech Package Bronze = 65th Anniversary of VE Day – Radio Redhill

Special Event Gold = New Outpatients Department – Radio Brockley
Special Event Silver = Spirit of Christmas – Whipps Cross Hospital Radio
Special Event Bronze = Snoezelen Charity – Choice Radio

Best Newcomer Gold = Louise Oliver – Radio Cherwell
Best Newcomer Silver = Edward Payne – Whitechapel AM
Best Newcomer Bronze = Callum Gallacher – Radio Grapevine

HBA Volunteer of the Year Kieran Crowhurst – Hospital Radio Plymouth

Patrick from Hospitalnet in Zimbabwe is winner of The John Whitney Award

Female Presenter of the Year Gold = Louise Croombs – Hospital Radio Reading
Female Presenter of the Year Silver = Anita Hepple – HWD Hospital Radio
Female Presenter of the Year Bronze = Shelley Nobile – Radio Grapevine

Male Presenter of the Year Gold = Richard Palmer – Radio Cherwell
Male Presenter of the Year Silver = Mark Keavney – Hospital Radio Basingstoke
Male Presenter of the Year Bronze = Andrew Hill – Hospital Radio Plymouth

Station of the Year Gold = Hospital Radio Plymouth
Station of the Year Silver = Radio Northwick Park
Station of the Year Bronze = Radio Redhill

Special thanks to Matt Wade for providing the information and live blog.

Hear more radio industry news like this at the top of the hour on inRadio - the radio industry's very own radio station. Listen now in a new window whilst you continue reading RadioToday or press play below.

0 1 647 27 March, 2011 Hospital Radio News 3:49 pm 20113 Sunday, March 27th, 2011

Leave a Reply

Looking for something else?


Subscribe to our emails to stay informed about the latest radio news and products delivered straight to your inbox.

Related Posts

No related posts were found
WorldDAB General Assembly 2016 - November 9, 2016 at 10:00 am ()
Student Radio Awards - November 10, 2016 at 6:00 pm (The O₂ 10 Entertainment Avenue, London, SE10 0DY, England)
BBC Gillard Awards - November 10, 2016 at 7:00 pm (Newcastle)
Audio Production Awards - November 23, 2016 at 6:00 pm (BFI Southbank, Belvedere Road, London)
Radio TechCon 2016 - November 28, 2016 at 10:00 am (The Arts Theatre, 6-7 Great Newport St, London WC2H 7JB)
Salon de la Radio - January 29, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
Salon de la Radio - January 30, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
Salon de la Radio - January 31, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
More events