Annie Mac and Scott Mills to host SRAs
Posted by
Annie Mac and Scott Mills to host SRAs

Next month’s Student Radio Awards are to be hosted by BBC Radio 1 presenters Annie Mac and Scott Mills.

This year’s event is backed by the BBC as well as commercial radio groups including Absolute, Bauer and GMG Radio – but lacks the support of Global Radio this year.

Annie Mac takes over as the Chair of the awards after Mary Anne Hobbs – now with XFM – stepped down from her position due to ‘other commitments’. Radio Today understands no Global Radio presenters and staff will be involved in this year’s Student Radio Awards judging or the ceremony. Global declined our offer to comment.

An SRA spokesman told us: “We would like to thank Mary Anne for her passion for student radio and her work so far, and hope that she can get involved in the Awards again in the future. Meanwhile, we are delighted to welcome Annie to the role and know that she will be an outstanding Chair.”

More than 500 entries have been received for the 14 categories in this year’s Student Radio Awards, with the nominations due to be unveiled later this week. More than 120 judges from across the industry have been listening to audio entries over the last few weeks.

The awards spokesman told us: “The SRA is proud to announce that BBC Radio is continuing to support the Awards this year, alongside some of the best stations and organisations within the commercial radio industry, including Bauer, Absolute Radio and GMG. The SRA is delighted that the radio industry continues to support student radio and recognises that it is a pool of talent that could well go on to sustain the industry in the future.”

Former Chair of the Student Radio Awards, Huw Stephens, will be in the audience on the night as a roaming reporter, seeking reactions from the crowd as the winners are announced on stage.

Scott Mills said: “I am so pleased to be asked to host the Awards again! I think it’s really important to listen to and find talent from student radio, there is a lot of it out there!”

Nominations will be announced as part of the ‘I Love Student Radio’ training days being held across the country on Wednesday this week ahead of the main Student Radio Awards ceremony on 9th November at the IndigO2 in London’s O2 Arena.

Hear more radio industry news like this at the top of the hour on inRadio - the radio industry's very own radio station. Listen now in a new window whilst you continue reading RadioToday or press play below.

0 0 711 10 October, 2011 Industry News 6:03 am 201110 Monday, October 10th, 2011

Leave a Reply

Looking for something else?


Subscribe to our emails to stay informed about the latest radio news and products delivered straight to your inbox.

Related Posts

WorldDAB General Assembly 2016 - November 9, 2016 at 10:00 am ()
Student Radio Awards - November 10, 2016 at 6:00 pm (The O₂ 10 Entertainment Avenue, London, SE10 0DY, England)
BBC Gillard Awards - November 10, 2016 at 7:00 pm (Newcastle)
Audio Production Awards - November 23, 2016 at 6:00 pm (BFI Southbank, Belvedere Road, London)
Radio TechCon 2016 - November 28, 2016 at 10:00 am (The Arts Theatre, 6-7 Great Newport St, London WC2H 7JB)
Salon de la Radio - January 29, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
Salon de la Radio - January 30, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
Salon de la Radio - January 31, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
More events