Shortlist out for Radio Production Awards
Posted by
Shortlist out for Radio Production Awards

The Radio Academy and the Radio Independents Group have announced the nominations for this year’s Radio Production Awards.

The Awards, now in their fourth year, recognise the work of UK-based radio and audio producers, and are open to independents, freelancers and programme-makers working across BBC, commercial, community, student and hospital radio, as well as those in digital companies making online radio and podcasts.

The 2013 awards feature a new category, Production Hero, intended to celebrate the production roles not covered by other awards, such as production manager, event co-ordinator, researcher, member of technical support or online staff, with the winner being picked by an independent committee of judges.

Paul Robinson, Chief Executive of The Radio Academy, said: “The wonderful breadth and depth of the nominations for this year’s RPAs confirm that UK radio production is in ‘rude creative health’ and I congratulate everyone nominated for their superb achievement.”

Phil Critchlow, Chair of the Radio Independents Group, said: “The RPAs are a real opportunity for us to collectively acknowledge and celebrate creativity. The great thing is that they’re fundamentally about people. People who have the ideas, compile the scripts, book the studios, guide the voices and mix the sound to deliver the UK produced audio content which sets benchmarks globally.”

Best Documentary/Feature Maker

Deborah Dudgeon – Whistledown Productions
Simon Jacobs – Unique
Richard Latto – BBC Radio Solent
Ben Taylor – Snappin’ Turtle Productions
Martin Williams – BBC Wales

Best Entertainment Producer

Gus Beattie – The Comedy Unit
Sam Bryant – BBC Radio Comedy
Simon Buschenfeld – Heart Network, Global
David Tyler – Pozzitive
Alison Vernon Smith – BBC Radio Comedy

Best Music Entertainment Producer

Bernard Achampong – BBC Radio 1Xtra
Kate Cocker – Wise Buddah
Rebecca Maxted – Freelance
Phil Noyce – Classic FM
Tom Whalley – Wise Buddah

Best Live Music Producer/Engineer

Joe Adams – Absolute Radio
John Cranmer – Folded Wing
Chris Denman – Global Radio
Chris Elcombe – Somethin’ Else

Best Podcast/Online Producer

Gill Davies – GDP
Christopher Fitch – Freelance
Matt Hill – Freelance
Sue Nelson – Boffin Media
Mark Newman – BBC

Best Multi-Platform Creator

Kate Cocker – Wise Buddah
Will Gilgrass – Somethin’ Else
Owen Hopkin – Classic FM
Jade Hutchinson – Wise Buddah
Nishil Solanki – TBI Media

Best Drama/Readings Producer

John Dryden – Goldhawk Productions
Jonathan Haw – Siren FM
Rhys Phillips – Radio Cardiff
Boz Temple-Morris – Holy Mountain
Joby Waldman – Somethin’ Else

Best Newcomer

Laurence Bowen – Feelgood Fiction Ltd
Alistair Cockburn – Classic FM
Tom Parry – TBI Media
Jade Scott – Sue Clark Productions
Isabel Sutton – Just Radio Ltd

Best Creative

Fari Bradley – Resonance FM
Alistair Cockburn – Classic FM
Phil Critchlow – TBI Media
Nathan Freeman – BBC Radio 6 Music
Dan Riedo – Xfm

Best Sound Designer

Steve Bond – Goldhawk Productions
Matt Katz – Top Dog Productions Ltd
Mark Pittam – TBI Media
Matt Thompson – Rockethouse Productions Ltd
Eloise Whitmore – Somethin’ Else

Indie Of The Year

Loftus Media
PRA Productions
Rockethouse Productions Ltd
USP Content
Whistledown Productions

Production Hero Award

Kate Cooper-Owen – Somethin’ Else
James Curran – Absolute Radio
Darby Dorras – Somethin’ Else
Gaynor Marshall – Metro Radio/TFM
Chad McKenzie – TBI Media

The winners of Producer of the Year and the Gold Award will be announced at the Awards Ceremony on Tuesday 26th November at The Hippodrome in London.

Hear more radio industry news like this at the top of the hour on inRadio - the radio industry's very own radio station. Listen now in a new window whilst you continue reading RadioToday or press play below.

0 Comments Off 1012 04 November, 2013 Industry News 11:30 am 201311 Monday, November 4th, 2013

Looking for something else?


Subscribe to our emails to stay informed about the latest radio news and products delivered straight to your inbox.

Related Posts

Radio Festival 2016 - September 26, 2016 at 9:00 am (The British Library, 96 Euston Rd, London NW1 2DB, United Kingdom)
Thanksgiving service to Sir Terry Wogan - September 27, 2016 at 12:00 pm (Westminster Abbey, London)
Closing Date: Audio Production Awards - September 29, 2016 at 11:59 pm (Online)
The Imaging Days - October 3, 2016 at 8:00 am (Holland)
The Imaging Days - October 4, 2016 at 8:00 am (Holland)
Radiodays Ireland - October 17, 2016 at 10:00 am (Dublin)
Radiodays Ireland - October 18, 2016 at 10:00 am (Dublin)
ARIAS - Audio and Radio Industry Awards - October 19, 2016 at 6:00 pm (First Direct Arena, Leeds)
More events