BBC Radio Foyle wins Station of the Year
Posted by
BBC Radio Foyle wins Station of the Year

Northern Ireland station BBC Radio Foyle has won the award for Radio Station of the Year at the Celtic Media Festival, a title is also won last year at the PPIs.

The Radio Ulster opt-out fought off stiff competition from national RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta and community station Raidió na Life 106.4FM (last year’s winner), plus Manx Radio and BBC Radio Cymru.

BBC Radio 3 and BBC Radio 4, both shortlisted in the best Radio Documentary category, lost out to Feall Fuilteach – Scéal Mhaolra Seoighe, produced by BBC Radio Ulster.

Also, RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta host Cormac Ó HEadhra has won the Radio Presenter/Personality. Cormac is the presenter of drivetime current affairs programme Cormac ag a Cúig. The programme came on air in September 2012 and in 2013 took home prizes for Programme of the Year, and Presenter of the Year, at the Oireachtas Media Awards.

The event, which is backed by the BBC, takes place at St Ives in Cornwall and saw over 100 productions from over 70 production companies and broadcasters nominated for awards across 20 categories.

Hear more radio industry news like this at the top of the hour on inRadio - the radio industry's very own radio station. Listen now in a new window whilst you continue reading RadioToday or press play below.

0 0 668 07 April, 2014 Awards, Station News 4:30 pm 20144 Monday, April 7th, 2014

Leave a Reply

Looking for something else?


Subscribe to our emails to stay informed about the latest radio news and products delivered straight to your inbox.

Related Posts

Closing Date: Audio Production Awards - September 29, 2016 at 11:59 pm (Online)
The Imaging Days - October 3, 2016 at 8:00 am (Holland)
The Imaging Days - October 4, 2016 at 8:00 am (Holland)
Radiodays Ireland - October 17, 2016 at 10:00 am (Dublin)
Radiodays Ireland - October 18, 2016 at 10:00 am (Dublin)
ARIAS - Audio and Radio Industry Awards - October 19, 2016 at 6:00 pm (First Direct Arena, Leeds)
WorldDAB General Assembly 2016 - November 9, 2016 at 10:00 am ()
Audio Production Awards - November 24, 2016 at 6:00 pm (BFI Southbank, Belvedere Road, London)
More events