Vanessa Feltz and Jo Whiley amongst new Hall of Fame list
Vanessa Feltz and Jo Whiley amongst new Hall of Fame list
Posted by
Vanessa Feltz and Jo Whiley amongst new Hall of Fame list

The Arqiva Hall of Fame 2014, organised by The Radio Academy, has announced the inductees who will be honoured at this year’s ceremony.

They are Jo Whiley, Vanessa Feltz, Trevor Nelson, Nicky Campbell, Pete Price, Alan Brazil and Barry Cryer. They will be inducted at a paid-for lunch event hosted by Absolute Radio’s Christian O’Connell, on Thursday 4th December at The Savoy Hotel in London.

Previous inductees include Danny Baker, Sandi Toksvig, Helen Mayhew, Sir Jimmy Young, DLT, Sir Terry Wogan, Ken Bruce, Bob Harris, David ‘Kid’ Jensen, Nicholas Parsons and Margherita Taylor.

Jo Whiley joined the radio industry straight after her studies, spending 17 years at Radio 1 before moving to BBC Radio 2 in 2011.

Having started her career in broadcasting and journalism, Vanessa Feltz has had her own BBC London 94.9 mid-morning show for the past 12 years. Vanessa has previously been awarded the prestigious Sony Speech Radio Personality of the Year in 2009. In 2011,Vanessa joined Radio 2 to present the early morning show in addition to her BBC London 94.9 programme and she also deputises for Jeremy Vine on Radio 2.

Trevor Nelson has been DJing from an early age, beginning his radio career on the graveyard shift for the then pirate station Kiss FM in London, which led to a daytime slot and a directorship once the radio station went legal. After 10 years with Kiss FM, Trevor moved to BBC Radio 1 in 1996 to present Rhythm Nation.

Nicky Campbell entered into radio working at Northsound Aberdeen. He has since worked at Capital Radio before joining the BBC to present a Saturday night show. He then joined BBC Radio 1 and hosted afternoons. Since 1997, Nicky has been at 5 live and has co-presented the breakfast show since 2003, winning a Sony Radio Academy Gold for the show in 2011.

Pete Price has a long-running late night talk show on Liverpool’s Radio City. Over the years, it has won numerous national and international awards including several Sonys and Pete himself has previously won World’s Best Talk Show Host at the New York Radio Festival.

Alan Brazil has presented the breakfast show on talkSPORT since the station launched and recently reached his highest ever number of listeners, with 1.5million tuning in each week.

And, comedy writer and performer Barry Cryer OBE will also be inducted into the Arqiva Radio Academy Hall of Fame this year. Barry has worked on BBC Radio 4’s You’ll Have Had Your Tea, and has been a regular fixture on I’m Sorry I Haven’t A Clue since 1974.

Gloria Abramoff, Interim CEO of The Radio Academy, said: “The Arqiva Hall of Fame Lunch is a wonderful event and a perfect opportunity for us to celebrate those who make UK radio so special. I’m thrilled with the inductees for this year’s event, they are all pioneering in what they do and truly deserving of this honour.”

Ben Hart, Head of Commercial Radio at Arqiva, said: “For the second year Arqiva are proud to sponsor the prestigious Radio Academy Hall of Fame Lunch. This event allows the commercial broadcasting sector to recognise the remarkable individuals in our industry for their immense talent.”

In addition to the Hall of Fame inductions, a number of Radio Academy Fellowships will also be presented during the event.

Hear more radio industry news like this at the top of the hour on inRadio - the radio industry's very own radio station. Listen now in a new window whilst you continue reading RadioToday or press play below.

0 5 10748 20 November, 2014 Industry News, Today 10:50 am 201411 Thursday, November 20th, 2014

Leave a Reply

Looking for something else?


Subscribe to our emails to stay informed about the latest radio news and products delivered straight to your inbox.

Related Posts

Closing Date: Audio Production Awards - September 29, 2016 at 11:59 pm (Online)
The Imaging Days - October 3, 2016 at 8:00 am (Holland)
The Imaging Days - October 4, 2016 at 8:00 am (Holland)
Radiodays Ireland - October 17, 2016 at 10:00 am (Dublin)
Radiodays Ireland - October 18, 2016 at 10:00 am (Dublin)
ARIAS - Audio and Radio Industry Awards - October 19, 2016 at 6:00 pm (First Direct Arena, Leeds)
WorldDAB General Assembly 2016 - November 9, 2016 at 10:00 am ()
Audio Production Awards - November 24, 2016 at 6:00 pm (BFI Southbank, Belvedere Road, London)
More events