Roger Wright gets CBE in New Year's Honours
Roger Wright gets CBE in New Year’s Honours
Posted by
Roger Wright gets CBE in New Year’s Honours

Former BBC Radio 3 Controller and Director of the BBC Proms Roger Wright has been awarded a CBE for his services to music in the Queen’s New Year’s Honours list.

Roger Wright took up the post of Controller, BBC Radio 3 in November 1998 and, in October 2007, also became Director of the BBC Proms. He also co-ordinated the BBC’s classical music output across all BBC platforms before he left earlier this year. He was replaced by Alan Davey.

He joins Mark Barber, Planning Director of the Radio Advertising Bureau who receives an MBE for his services to commercial radio and former 5 live and commercial radio presenter Rob McLoughlin who gets an OBE for his services to Broadcasting in the North West.

Also, Trevor Baylis, inventor of the wind-up radio gets a CBE and Meera Syal, who has appeared in a number of BBC Radio 4 comedy shows, gets a CBE and there’s an OBE for Anthony Olusola Ademola Ageh, Controller of Archive Development at the BBC, for services to Digital Media.

Hear more radio industry news like this at the top of the hour on inRadio - the radio industry's very own radio station. Listen now in a new window whilst you continue reading RadioToday or press play below.

0 0 3109 04 January, 2015 People News 10:45 pm 20151 Sunday, January 4th, 2015

Leave a Reply

Looking for something else?


Subscribe to our emails to stay informed about the latest radio news and products delivered straight to your inbox.

Related Posts

Closing Date: Audio Production Awards - September 29, 2016 at 11:59 pm (Online)
The Imaging Days - October 3, 2016 at 8:00 am (Holland)
The Imaging Days - October 4, 2016 at 8:00 am (Holland)
Radiodays Ireland - October 17, 2016 at 10:00 am (Dublin)
Radiodays Ireland - October 18, 2016 at 10:00 am (Dublin)
ARIAS - Audio and Radio Industry Awards - October 19, 2016 at 6:00 pm (First Direct Arena, Leeds)
WorldDAB General Assembly 2016 - November 9, 2016 at 10:00 am ()
Audio Production Awards - November 24, 2016 at 6:00 pm (BFI Southbank, Belvedere Road, London)
More events