Commentary team changes at BBC Radio Devon
Commentary team changes at BBC Radio Devon
Posted by
Commentary team changes at BBC Radio Devon

Alan Richardson, Drew Savage and Charlie Price will commentate on Plymouth Argyle matches for BBC Radio Devon following Gordon Sparks’ decision to take a break.

The early breakfast show host will continue his daily show, and announcing the sport on breakfast with Simon Bates, but for now is happy about the change. He says: “I must admit it will be something of a relief to have a break from commentary duties which involves plenty of preparation and watching games with a notepad, stopwatch and a producer in my ear. Fortunately, my wishes have been considered in my favour.”

Mark Grinnell, Editor of BBC Radio Devon said: “Gordon and Plymouth Argyle are umbilically connected, so I realise fans will miss him this year but we’ve got a great new commentary team lined up while Gordon takes a break and enjoys the matches from the stands. Gordon is still a massive part of the Radio Devon family and continues on air in his regular shows”

Gordon continues: “I will continue to present my weekday Early Show and also sport on The Breakfast Show with Simon Bates which I enjoy immensely. It will be a refreshing change to watch Plymouth Argyle matches purely as a fan, if for no other reason that I won’t have to observe a League rule of not being able to wear club colours from now on.”

The commentary for Plymouth Argyle matches for the 2016/2017 season on BBC Radio Devon will mainly be covered by Alan Richardson, Drew Savage and Charlie Price.

Hear more radio industry news like this at the top of the hour on inRadio - the radio industry's very own radio station. Listen now in a new window whilst you continue reading RadioToday or press play below.

0 Comments Off 3072 11 July, 2016 People News 12:57 pm 20167 Monday, July 11th, 2016

Looking for something else?


Subscribe to our emails to stay informed about the latest radio news and products delivered straight to your inbox.

Related Posts

Closing Date: Audio Production Awards - September 29, 2016 at 11:59 pm (Online)
The Imaging Days - October 3, 2016 at 8:00 am (Holland)
The Imaging Days - October 4, 2016 at 8:00 am (Holland)
Radiodays Ireland - October 17, 2016 at 10:00 am (Dublin)
Radiodays Ireland - October 18, 2016 at 10:00 am (Dublin)
ARIAS - Audio and Radio Industry Awards - October 19, 2016 at 6:00 pm (First Direct Arena, Leeds)
WorldDAB General Assembly 2016 - November 9, 2016 at 10:00 am ()
Audio Production Awards - November 24, 2016 at 6:00 pm (BFI Southbank, Belvedere Road, London)
More events