BBC Audio Drama Awards open for entries
BBC Audio Drama Awards open for entries
Posted by
BBC Audio Drama Awards open for entries

The annual BBC Audio Drama Awards return for a sixth year to celebrate the exceptional talent, creativity and diversity of audio drama.

Entries are now open for the awards, with submissions welcomed from all makers of audio drama, both from the BBC and other broadcasters – including analogue, digital and online.

Alison Hindell, BBC’s Head of Audio Drama says: “I’m delighted that these Awards have become a regular event, recognising as they do the talent of all those who contribute to audio drama. We all know the way audio drama can capture listeners’ hearts and imaginations with the power to make us laugh and cry. Good luck to all those who enter!”

The 2016 awards ceremony was hosted in January this year by Lenny Henry and Helen Boaden, Director of BBC Radio, where winners included John Hurt (Outstanding Contribution Award); June Whitfield (Lifetime Achievement Award for over 70 years in radio drama and comedy); and Alfred Molina (Best Actor).

Prize-givers at the ceremony included Ruth Jones, Fenella Woolgar, playwright Mike Bartlett and Downton Abbey star Paul Copley.

As with previous years, the well-established Imison and Tinniswood Awards, which are judged and administered by the Society of Authors and the Writers’ Guild of Great Britain, will also be announced at the ceremony.

The short-listed entries will be announced on Tuesday 22 November, and the finalists will be revealed on Tuesday 3 January 2017. The winners will be announced at a ceremony in the Radio Theatre at BBC Broadcasting House London on Sunday 29 January 2017.

The 2017 award categories open for nominations are:

Best Original Audio Drama (Single Play)
Best Audio Drama (Series or Serial)
Best Audio Drama (Adaptation)
Best Actor in an Audio Drama
Best Actress in an Audio Drama
Best Supporting Actor/Actress in an Audio Drama
Best Debut Performance in an Audio Drama
Best Use of Sound in an Audio Drama
Best Scripted Comedy (script award)
Best Scripted Comedy with a Live Audience (script award)
Best Online or Non-Broadcast Audio Drama

The closing date for entries is midnight on Friday 14 October 2016. See here for more info.

Hear more radio industry news like this at the top of the hour on inRadio - the radio industry's very own radio station. Listen now in a new window whilst you continue reading RadioToday or press play below.

0 Comments Off 951 20 September, 2016 Awards 12:26 pm 20169 Tuesday, September 20th, 2016

Looking for something else?


Subscribe to our emails to stay informed about the latest radio news and products delivered straight to your inbox.

Related Posts

The Imaging Days - October 3, 2016 at 8:00 am (Holland)
The Imaging Days - October 4, 2016 at 8:00 am (Holland)
Radiodays Ireland - October 17, 2016 at 10:00 am (Dublin)
Radiodays Ireland - October 18, 2016 at 10:00 am (Dublin)
ARIAS - Audio and Radio Industry Awards - October 19, 2016 at 6:00 pm (First Direct Arena, Leeds)
WorldDAB General Assembly 2016 - November 9, 2016 at 10:00 am ()
Audio Production Awards - November 24, 2016 at 6:00 pm (BFI Southbank, Belvedere Road, London)
Radio TechCon 2016 - November 28, 2016 at 10:00 am (The Arts Theatre, 6-7 Great Newport St, London WC2H 7JB)
More events