Student Radio Awards 2015 – full winners

Smoke Radio, the radio station for the University of Westminster, has won the Best Student Radio Station award at the Student Radio Awards 2015.

Big winners from the evening include URN, which took home four Gold awards, and University Radio Bath which got two along with Leeds Student Radio and URY. The rest of the winners won one each, they are Xpress Radio, Spark Sunderland, RaW 1251, Fly FM and BIRSt Radio.

The Student Radio Awards are supported by BBC Radio 1 and Global, and had special guests such as Ben Cooper, Ashley Tabor, Richard Park, Mark Goodier and Steve Lamaq giving out the awards.

Clara Amfo and Dave Berry hosted the show whilst Matt Edmondson and Kat Shoob were roaming around in the audience.

The full list of winners are below:

Best Live Event or Outside Broadcast, supported by British Council

Bronze – Three Peaks Challenge – Shock Radio

Silver – Elections Results Night – URY

Gold – The Welsh Varsity 2015 – Xpress Radio

Best Student Radio Chart Show, supported by BBC Radio 1 and 1Xtra

Bronze – Leeds Student Radio

Silver – Fly FM

Gold – University Radio Bath

Best Technical Achievement, supported by BBC Digital

Bronze – OB1 – Universal Outside Broadcaster – URN

Silver – Roses mini OB Kits – URY

Gold – Visualisation Rebuild and URB Digital – University Radio Bath

Best Multiplatform Initiative, supported by Kiss

Bronze – Spark Election 2015 – Spark Sunderland

Silver – URN’s Student Leader Elections – URN

Gold – #SpiceUK! – Leeds Student Radio

Best Interview, supported by BBC Asian Network

Bronze – Mental Health Issues in Sport – Xpression FM

Silver – Michael does Wagner – Nerve Radio

Gold – Emma Pearce interviews Mike Buchanan – URN

Best Speech Programming, supported by BBC Radio 4 and 4 Extra

Bronze – Sea Burn – Spark Sunderland

Silver – Nick Slater – Podcast Series – URN

Gold – Both Sides of Dying – Spark Sunderland

Best Journalistic Programming, supported by BBC Newsbeat

Bronze – Hardeep Kaur Dhadda – Scratch Radio

Silver – Nick Slater – Podcast Series – URN\

Gold – The Pulse – URN

Best Sport Programming, supported by BBC Radio 5 live

Bronze – Boxing Varsity ’14 – Xpression FM

Silver – Varsity Basketball 2015 – URN

Gold – URN Sport – URN

Best Specialist Music Programming, supported by BBC Radio 6 Music

Bronze – Friday Nights On Fly FM with Ore

Silver – Urban Soul – Xpress Radio

Gold – Pop Up Folk – RaW 1251AM

Best Entertainment Programming , supported by Absolute Radio

Bronze – The Paul Jones Show- Shock Radio

Silver – Ben Bason- Forge Radio

Gold – Harry Whittaker – URY

Best Marketing and Station Sound, supported by Wise Buddah

Bronze – CSR

Silver – Leeds Student Radio

Gold – URN

Best Newcomer, supported by PPL

Bronze – Bethany Bartley-Jeacock – Leeds Student Radio

Silver – Louisa Fox – Leeds Student Radio

Gold – Rebecca Saw – URY

Best Female Presenter, supported by Global

Bronze – Laurie Charlesworth – Nerve Radio

Silver – Anna Louise Walter – CSR

Gold – Claire Duesbury – Fly FM

Best Male Presenter, supported by Global

Bronze – Harry Whittaker – URY

Silver – James Lewer – Fly FM

Gold – Sammy James – Leeds Student Radio

Kevin Greening Award, supported by North Media Talent

Bronze – Matt Curtis – Fly FM

Silver – Farsity – Xpress Radio

Gold – – BIRSt Radio

Best Student Radio Station, supported by BBC Radio 1 and 1Xtra

Bronze – Spark Sunderland

Siver – URN

Gold – Smoke Radio

624smoke 2

Posted on Thursday, November 5th, 2015 at 11:25 pm by RadioToday UK

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories