Shortlist announced for the IRN Awards 2017

The nominations for the 2017 IRN Awards in association with Sky News have been announced today.

The number of nominees has increased to five per category and the winners will be revealed at Sky Central in west London on Thursday 23rd March in a ceremony hosted by Sky News Sunrise presenter Sarah-Jane Mee.

The Gold Award, which recognises an outstanding contribution to the commercial radio industry, will also be presented at the event.

The nominees are:

Newcomer of the Year

Phil McDonald – Northsound

Charlotte Gay – Global’s Newsroom West

Rosie Wright – Premier Christian Radio

Hope Webb – Forth 1 & Forth 2

Rosanna Austin – Radio Aire

Best Sports Coverage

Dare to Dream: Northern Ireland Euro 2016 Journey – Downtown Radio & Cool FM

Rio 2016: Team Yorkshire – Radio Yorkshire

Scottish Cup Final 2016: Heroes and Hooligans – Clyde 1

Pulse 2: Matchday LIVE – Pulse 2

Euro 2016: The Pride of the Dragon – Global’s Newsroom Wales

Best News Special or Feature

Leeds Over the Limit – Radio Aire

The Manchester Bomb – Key 103

US Election Special – talkRADIO

Dunblane 20 Years On – Clyde 1 & Clyde 2

Justice for Joseph – Key 103

Best Interview:

Vicky Murray – West FM & Westsound

Lorraine’s Life Sentence – Stray FM

Stoke-on-Trent Imam Condemns Terror Attacks – Signal 1 & Signal 2

Lorry Accident: A Widow’s Love and Forgiveness – Clyde 1 & Clyde 2

Steve Kelly: My Hillsborough Journey – Radio City 2 & Radio City Talk

Student Journalist of the Yearsupported by the BJTC

Carlie Foster – University of Salford

Patrick Hildred – University of Sheffield

Mariana Des Forges – Goldsmiths, University of London

Kait Borsay – University of Westminster

Al Riddell – Goldsmiths, University of London

Reporter of the Year:

Charlotte Gay – Global’s Newsroom West

Hope Webb – Forth 1 & Forth 2

Martin Lindsay – Global’s Newsroom North East

Linda Sinclair – Clyde 1 & Clyde 2

Connor Gillies – Global’s Newsroom Scotland

Newsreader of the Year for stations or hubs with a TSA of under one million

Matt Soanes – Lincs FM

Chris Hubbard – BOB fm Hertfordshire

Janine Hindle – 2BR

Vicky Murray – West FM & Westsound

Phil Munns – Dee 106.3 and Silk 106.9

Newsreader of the Year for stations or hubs with a TSA of over one million

Naomi Holland – Downtown Radio & Cool FM

Katy White – Gem 106

Tim John – Capital FM

Robyn Schonhofer – talkSPORT & Virgin Radio

Chris Holdsworth – 107.4 Tower FM, 107.2 Wire FM & 102.4 Wish FM

News Team of the Year with a TSA of under one million

Free Radio Herefordshire & Worcestershire

Radio Aire News

Pulse 1 & Pulse 2 News Team

JACK fm Oxfordshire

Radio Borders

News Team of the Year with a TSA of over one million

Global’s Newsroom Midlands

Radio City News

Global’s Newsroom Wales

Downtown Radio & Cool FM News Team

Global’s Newsroom Scotland

IRN Editor and Chair of Judges Dave Terris said: “Once again, the response has been phenomenal which has meant some tough calls for the judges. Increasing the number of nominees to five is a reflection of the quality and enterprise of news teams across the UK as the battle to be distinct intensifies. It makes for a cracking event on March 23rd.”

IRN Managing Director Tim Molloy said: “Thank you to everyone who entered this year and commiserations if your entry didn’t make the shortlists. As always it has been difficult to whittle the entries down but we hope by now having five nominees per category we can recognise and encourage more radio news talent than before. Please do join us on the day even if you haven’t been nominated.”

Need a new or improved logo for your radio station? Visit OhMy.Graphics and see how awesome you can look.
Posted on Wednesday, February 22nd, 2017 at 10:27 am by RadioToday UK

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories
buy metformin metformin online