Chairman remains at Ofcom
Posted by
Chairman remains at Ofcom

Lord (David) Currie of Marylebone has been re-appointed as Chairman Ofcom by the Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport, Tessa Jowell and the Secretary of State for Trade and Industry, Alan Johnson.

The re-appointment will be for a period of 2 years, commencing after the end of his current term. The appointment will end on 31 July 2009, after the completion of two terms.

In announcing the re-appointment, Tessa Jowell said:

“David Currie has been instrumental in the successful establishment of Ofcom as the UK’s regulator for the communications industries and I congratulate him on that achievement.

“The complexity of forming and developing such an organisation, taking on the different roles of all the five predecessor organisations, should not be under-estimated.

“The challenges facing Ofcom in carrying out its role over the next few years are of course considerable, and I am very pleased that as a result of his reappointment, David will be able to continue leading Ofcom’s Board in tackling those challenges effectively.”

Alan Johnson also welcomed the re-appointment, saying:

“We are pleased that David Currie has accepted the invitation to remain as Chairman of Ofcom for a second, final, term in communications regulation. Since Ofcom was established it has developed an excellent reputation among stakeholders for its firm yet flexible approach to regulation.

“David’s role in providing a strategic direction to Ofcom, has been invaluable, and his reappointment will help ensure that Ofcom continues to build effectively on the substantial foundations which David and his colleagues have laid.”

Hear more radio industry news like this at the top of the hour on inRadio - the radio industry's very own radio station. Listen now in a new window whilst you continue reading RadioToday or press play below.

0 0 404 20 January, 2006 Industry News 8:34 am 20061 Friday, January 20th, 2006

Leave a Reply

Looking for something else?


Subscribe to our emails to stay informed about the latest radio news and products delivered straight to your inbox.

Related Posts

No related posts were found
WorldDAB General Assembly 2016 - November 9, 2016 at 10:00 am ()
Student Radio Awards - November 10, 2016 at 6:00 pm (The O₂ 10 Entertainment Avenue, London, SE10 0DY, England)
BBC Gillard Awards - November 10, 2016 at 7:00 pm (Newcastle)
Audio Production Awards - November 23, 2016 at 6:00 pm (BFI Southbank, Belvedere Road, London)
Radio TechCon 2016 - November 28, 2016 at 10:00 am (The Arts Theatre, 6-7 Great Newport St, London WC2H 7JB)
Salon de la Radio - January 29, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
Salon de la Radio - January 30, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
Salon de la Radio - January 31, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
More events