Music Week Awards - winners
Posted by
Music Week Awards – winners

BBC Radio 2 and Kerrang! Radio were among the big winners at the Music Week Awards last night. The national BBC network won Station of the Year for the second year running, whilst Emma Scrafton from Kerrang! was named Music Programmer of the Year.

Also up for the Station of the Year award was BBC Radio 1, 6Music, Radio City and Radio Clyde.

Tindle Radio's 99.9 Radio Norwich was also given a special commendation for what the judges called its "quality of local content, creativeness and localness". The station, which only launched last June, was described by the panel of music executives as being "everything that a local station should aspire to be".

Radio Norwich's Programme Director and Breakfast Presenter, Tom Kay, told “We’ve worked really hard over the past nine months to create a locally-focused brand for Norwich. We were shortlisted alongside two national BBC stations, so to receive the nomination and then the commendation was quite an achievement”.

The full list of winners is as follows:

[b]Independent Store of the Year[/b]: Sister Ray, London
[b]Digital Store of the Year[/b]: iTunes
[b]Music Retail Chain of the Year[/b]: HMV
[b]Sales Force of the Year[/b]: Universal
[b]Distributor of the Year[/b]: EMI
[b]Digital Music Service of the Year[/b]: 3 Music Store
[b]Music Programmer of the Year[/b]: [i]Emma Scrafton – Kerrang! Radio[/i]
[b]Radio Station of the Year [/b](sponsored by PPL): [i]BBC Radio 2[/i]
[b]Regional Promotions Team of the Year [/b](sponsored by Nielsen Music Control): Polydor Regional
[b]National Promotions Team of the Year[/b]: Island Records Group
[b]Booking Agent of the Year[/b]: Paul Boswell, Free Trade
[b]Concert Promoter of the Year[/b]: Simon Moran, SJM
[b]Venue of the Year [/b](sponsored by Red Stripe): The Luminaire
[b]Publisher of the Year[/b]: EMI
[b]Producer of the Year[/b]: Mark Ronson (Amy Winehouse, Robbie Williams, Lily Allen)
[b]The A&R Award[/b] (sponsored by MTV Networks UK & Ireland): Polydor
[b]PR Campaign of the Year[/b]: Sundraj Sreenivasan (for The Sound of Girls Aloud)
[b]International Marketing Campaign of the Year [/b](Supported by T-Mobile): Mike Allen, Kevin Brown & Caitlin Gibbons – Corinne Bailey Rae
[b]Catalogue Marketing Campaign on the Year[/b]: Chas Chandler – Slade Remastered
[b]UK Marketing Campaign of the Year [/b](sponsored by Yahoo! Music): Katherine Parrott and Dan Duncombe – Lily Allen
[b]Independent Record Label of the Year[/b] (sponsored by VidZone Digital Media): Domino
[b]Record Label of the Year[/b]: Polydor
[b]Manager of the Year [/b](sponsored by Sony Ericsson): Neale Easterby/Richard Ramsey – Empire
[b]The Strat Award[/b]: Jazz Summers

[link=] – non-stop radio news[/link] [email protected] or call 0871 315 6 315

Hear more radio industry news like this at the top of the hour on inRadio - the radio industry's very own radio station. Listen now in a new window whilst you continue reading RadioToday or press play below.

0 0 456 16 March, 2007 Industry News 10:55 am 20073 Friday, March 16th, 2007

Leave a Reply

Looking for something else?


Subscribe to our emails to stay informed about the latest radio news and products delivered straight to your inbox.

Related Posts

No related posts were found
RAJAR Q3 2016 - October 26, 2016 at 11:00 pm (London)
WorldDAB General Assembly 2016 - November 9, 2016 at 10:00 am ()
Student Radio Awards - November 10, 2016 at 6:00 pm (The O₂ 10 Entertainment Avenue, London, SE10 0DY, England)
BBC Gillard Awards - November 10, 2016 at 7:00 pm (Newcastle)
Audio Production Awards - November 23, 2016 at 6:00 pm (BFI Southbank, Belvedere Road, London)
Radio TechCon 2016 - November 28, 2016 at 10:00 am (The Arts Theatre, 6-7 Great Newport St, London WC2H 7JB)
Salon de la Radio - January 29, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
Salon de la Radio - January 30, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
More events