Gaydar's own Queens' Awards
Posted by
Gaydar's own Queens' Awards

GaydarRadio is publishing an inaugural Alternative Queens’ New Years Honours List — their own celebration of the people, the events and the organisations they think really deserve a gong as opposed to those who receive a traditional New Year Honour from HRH The Queen.

Each winner will be selected by an invited guest figurehead to receive an honorary Queen of the British Empire (QBE), as opposed to a CBE or MBE. Each winner will be sent a token tiara as a little memento to mark the honour.

This year’s QBEs will be awarded to Gay Idol of the Year, Lesbian Idol of the year, Club of the Year, Event of the Year, Charity of the Year, Politician of the Year, Business Leader of the Year, Sporting hero/ine or heroes/heroines of the Year, Actor and Actress of the Year, Movie of the Year, Musician/Band of the Year, Homophobe of the Year and Gay Gaffe of the Year.

The Gaydar QBE selection panel includes Gay Times Editor Joseph Galliano, Diva Editor Jane Czyzselska, QSoft Consulting MD Henry Badenhorst, Stonewall CEO Ben Summerskilll; DJs The Freemasons; the writers and broadcasters Jamie Crick and Damian Barr, the broadcaster Amy Lame; and the author Paul Burston.

GaydarRadio Programme Controller Robin Crowley said; “What better opportunity for our community to big up and celebrate the people, the places and the events that all too often get overlooked — and to make a small point or two about those who would have been much better off keeping a sock in it.”

GaydarRadio will also broadcast its Alternative Queen’s Speech to the nation at 3pm on Christmas Day.

Club Nation meanwhile goes large on GaydarRadio over the Christmas party week, running from 9pm to 6am most evenings.

Hear more radio industry news like this at the top of the hour on inRadio - the radio industry's very own radio station. Listen now in a new window whilst you continue reading RadioToday or press play below.

0 0 426 13 December, 2007 Digital Radio News 12:47 pm 200712 Thursday, December 13th, 2007

Leave a Reply

Looking for something else?


Subscribe to our emails to stay informed about the latest radio news and products delivered straight to your inbox.

Related Posts

No related posts were found
WorldDAB General Assembly 2016 - November 9, 2016 at 10:00 am ()
Student Radio Awards - November 10, 2016 at 6:00 pm (The O₂ 10 Entertainment Avenue, London, SE10 0DY, England)
BBC Gillard Awards - November 10, 2016 at 7:00 pm (Newcastle)
Audio Production Awards - November 23, 2016 at 6:00 pm (BFI Southbank, Belvedere Road, London)
Radio TechCon 2016 - November 28, 2016 at 10:00 am (The Arts Theatre, 6-7 Great Newport St, London WC2H 7JB)
BBC Music Awards 2016 - December 10, 2016 at 8:00 pm (ExCeL London 1 Western Gateway, London, E16 1XL, England)
Salon de la Radio - January 29, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
Salon de la Radio - January 30, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
More events