Zane Lowe gets Chris Moyles' gig
Posted by
Zane Lowe gets Chris Moyles' gig

Zane Lowe is to present the Radio 1 breakfast show, but only for a week as part of a 'specialist takeover' at the station in January.

Annie Mac, Huw Stephens and Nick Grimshaw will also be on daytimes from 3 January as part of a drive throughout the month to promote new music.

During the week, the winner of the BBC Sound of 2011 poll will be announced. Compiled from the views of music critics and industry experts, the survey names the rising stars tipped for big things in the coming 12 months. Ellie Goulding was the winner of the BBC Sound of 2010 with previous winners including Little Boots, Adele, Mika, Corinne Bailey Rae, The Bravery, Keane and 50 Cent.

In the first week back in the new year, Annie Mac will host Fearne Cotton's show (10am-12.45pm), Huw Stephens will sit in for Greg James (1-4pm) and Nick Grimshaw will replace Scott Mills (4-5.45pm and 6-7pm).

Deputy Controller of BBC Radio 1 and BBC Radio 1Xtra Ben Cooper said: "Supporting new music is extremely important to Radio 1. Over the last 12 months we have played a major part in breaking artists like The XX, Mumford & Sons, Plan B, Biffy Clyro and Marina & The Diamonds plus many more and 2011 will be no different."

He added: "January will be exciting for Radio 1 as we turn the schedule on its head to bring our audiences even more brand new music and live events all month long."

The station has a special week of BBC Introducing planned for 10-14 January, followed by In New Music We Trust (17-21 Jan) and In New DJs We Trust (24-28 Jan).

Hear more radio industry news like this at the top of the hour on inRadio - the radio industry's very own radio station. Listen now in a new window whilst you continue reading RadioToday or press play below.

0 0 357 03 December, 2010 Station News 10:32 am 201012 Friday, December 3rd, 2010

Leave a Reply

Looking for something else?


Subscribe to our emails to stay informed about the latest radio news and products delivered straight to your inbox.

Related Posts

No related posts were found
WorldDAB General Assembly 2016 - November 9, 2016 at 10:00 am ()
Student Radio Awards - November 10, 2016 at 6:00 pm (The O₂ 10 Entertainment Avenue, London, SE10 0DY, England)
BBC Gillard Awards - November 10, 2016 at 7:00 pm (Newcastle)
Audio Production Awards - November 23, 2016 at 6:00 pm (BFI Southbank, Belvedere Road, London)
Radio TechCon 2016 - November 28, 2016 at 10:00 am (The Arts Theatre, 6-7 Great Newport St, London WC2H 7JB)
Salon de la Radio - January 29, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
Salon de la Radio - January 30, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
Salon de la Radio - January 31, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
More events