with RCS

New appointments at Ofcom

Philip Graf appointed as Deputy Chairman of Ofcom
Philip Graf has been appointed as the Non-Executive Deputy Chairman of Ofcom.

Philip Graf joined the Liverpool Daily Post and Echo in 1983, which became Trinity International Holdings in 1985. He subsequently became Chief Executive in 1993. He became Chief Executive of Trinity Mirror Group when the company merged with the Mirror Group in 1999 – a position he held until September 2002. In 2003 he was asked by the Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport to carry out a review of the BBC’s online activities. He is a Partner with the executive coaching firm Praesta and a Trustee of the homelessness charity Crisis. He received a CBE for services to regional newspapers in the Queen’s birthday honours in 2003.

He is currently the Chairman of the Press Standards Board of Finance – the body which funds the Press Complaints Commission – and the Chairman of the Broadband Stakeholder Group – the advisory group to the Government on the promotion of broadband services. He will stand down from both roles upon taking up his appointment at Ofcom.

Philip Graf will also chair the Ofcom Content Board – a committee of the main Ofcom Board with delegated responsibility for the regulation of television and radio quality and standards – and will be a member of the Ofcom Remuneration, Audit and Nominations Committees.

Ofcom Chairman David Currie said: “Philip’s appointment further strengthens the sector experience and expertise around the Ofcom Board.?

He added: “I would also like to pay tribute to our outgoing Deputy Chairman, Richard Hooper, for his outstanding work and support over the last three years.”

Philip Graf said: “I welcome the challenge of contributing to the work of an organisation like Ofcom and look forward to working with the team. The communications markets are critically important for the UK economy as whole, and effective regulation can make a real difference.”

Philip Graf?s appointment is effective from 1 January 2006.

Further Appointments
Separately, Ofcom announced today that its Partner in the Competition Group, Sean Williams, will be joining the Ofcom Board as an Executive Director with effect from 1 January 2006. A former Partner at the consulting firm LEK and a non-executive Director of Williams Lea Group Ltd, Sean Williams joined Ofcom as Partner with responsibility for Competition and Investigations in March 2003. He has played a leading role in all of Ofcom?s major competition enquiries, including all merger analysis in the sector and the Strategic Review of Telecommunications.

Ofcom has also appointed Polly Weitzman to the newly created post of General Counsel. The former Head of the EC and UK Competition Law Department at Denton Wilde Sapte and a qualified solicitor, Polly Weitzman joined Ofcom as Director of Competition Law in January 2004. As senior legal advisor to the Board and head of legal within Ofcom, the new role of General Counsel will replace that of the Independent Standing Counsel to Ofcom previously filled by Peter Susman QC.

Ofcom is an independent statutory corporation accountable to Parliament. The Ofcom Board provides strategic direction for the organisation, with a Non-Executive Chairman and Deputy Chairman, four Non-Executive Directors and four Executive Directors including the Chief Executive Officer.

Non-Executive Directors
Lord Currie of Marylebone (Chairman)
Philip Graf (Deputy Chairman, effective 1 January 2006)
Millie Banerjee
Ian Hargreaves
Stephanie Liston
Sara Nathan

Executive Directors
Stephen Carter (Chief Executive)
Kip Meek
Ed Richards
Sean Williams (effective 1 January 2006)

Non-Executive Directors of the Ofcom Board (including the Chairman and Deputy Chairman) are appointed jointly by the Secretary of State for Trade and Industry and the Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport, on a 3 to 5 year term, under the provisions of the Office of Communications Act 2002.

The Chief Executive is appointed by the Nominations Committee of the Board, which includes the Chairman and an Independent Assessor. The other Executive Directors of the Board are appointed on the recommendation of the Chief Executive and approved by the Non-Executive Directors.

You might also like

Comments are closed.