National Hospital Radio Award Winners 2020

The winners of the National Hospital Radio Awards 2020 have been announced via an online presentation in place of the cancelled awards evening.

The awards are an annual celebration of the excellent year-on-year standards found in hospital radio stations across the country.

They are open to any HBA member station, and are divided into different categories, each one recognising a specific area of excellence; some are awarded to individuals, others to stations.

Most of the categories recognise gold, silver, and bronze winners; however, two prizes are awarded to only one individual with no runner-up places.

This year there was a dead heat for Station of the Year meaning two Silver awards were awarded.

Here is the list in full:

Best Station Promo
Bronze: Radio Hillingdon
Silver: Radio Wey
Gold: Radio Glamorgan

Best Specialist Music
Bronze: HWD, The Rock Show
Silver: Radio Grapevine, Fresh Sounds
Gold: Radio Tyneside, The Geordie Hour

Best Speech Package
Bronze: Hospital Radio Plymouth
Silver: Durham Hospital Radio
Gold: BHBN

Best Special Event
Bronze: Radio Wey
Silver: Radio Hillingdon
Gold: Hospital Broadcasting Service

Best Newcomer
Bronze: Anandi Shah, Radio Harrow
Silver: Jojo Sanderson, CHBN
Gold: Shannon Griffin, Hospital Radio Medway

Best Multiple Presenters
Bronze: Radio Medway
Silver: Southend Hospital Radio
Gold: Radio Wey

Best Male Presenter
Bronze: Joe Smith, Southend Hospital Radio
Silver: Rajiv Hasan, Nottingham Hospitals Radio
Gold: Ross Maxwell, Grampian Hospital Radio

Best Female Presenter
Bronze: Hansa Varsani, Radio Harrow
Silver: Philippa Clarkin, BHBN
Gold: Julie Caston, Nottingham Hospitals Radio

Best Station Joint Silver
Silver: Radio Redhill
Silver: BHBN
Gold: Radio Brockley

Innovation Award: Radio Wey

John Whitney Award: Roy Gladish, CHBN

HBA 50th Anniversary Special Recognition Award: June Snowden

Posted on Tuesday, April 14th, 2020 at 6:38 pm by RadioToday UK

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories