Applications open for small-scale DAB licences

The first 25 small-scale DAB radio multiplex licences are being advertised today by Ofcom.

Applicants now have 12 weeks to prepare and submit applications, while stations wanting a Community Digital Sound Programme (C-DSP) licence to broadcast in one of the areas can also apply for a licence.

The first small scale multiplex licences are expected to be awarded early in 2021.

The list of multiplex licence areas being advertised are:

  • Alnwick & Morpeth
  • Basingstoke
  • Bradford
  • Derry/Londonderry
  • Cambridge
  • Cardiff
  • Clevedon, Avonmouth & Filton
  • Dudley & Stourbridge
  • East Bristol, Mangotsfield & Keynsham
  • Edinburgh
  • Exeter
  • Glasgow
  • Inverclyde
  • Isles of Scilly
  • Kings Lynn
  • Leeds
  • Newcastle & Gateshead
  • North Birmingham
  • Norwich
  • Salisbury
  • Sheffield & Rotherham
  • South Birmingham
  • Tynemouth & South Shields
  • Welsh valleys
  • Winchester

Here’s how to apply.

The second round of multiplex licences will be advertised next year and will cover areas in north-west England and north east Wales.

Posted on Tuesday, September 1st, 2020 at 11:42 am by Lee Price

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories