Community Radio Awards shortlist announced for 2022

The finalists for the 2022 Community Radio Awards have been announced.

This year’s awards ceremony is taking place on Saturday the 19th of November in Bedford, the event will follow the Community Radio Conference which is being organised by the UK Community Radio Network.

Martin Steers, Awards Chair, said: “It’s been another great year for Community Radio across the UK, and as ever it’s been a big challenge for our judges from across the industry as the quality of entries are better than ever, a real testament to all that Community Radio stations do in their areas.”

“We are excited to be working again with the UK Community Radio Network and look forward to hosting the awards after their conference, and the awards would not be possible without the support of the sector, our judges, all the stations and volunteers who enter, and our sponsors helping keep the awards and ceremony accessible costs wise.

Tickets and more details are available here.

The Community Radio Awards Nomination Shortlist

Community Development Project of the Year – Sponsored by UK Community Radio Network

Women’s Voices – ALL FM
Ukraine Community Appeal – Sheppey FM 92.2
The 4Ps Radio Training School for Young people – Vectis Radio
The 4Ps Radio Training School for Adults with Learning Difficulties – Vectis Radio

Station of the Year – Sponsored by PlayoutOne

Black Country Radio
Heartland FM
Switch Radio
Vectis Radio

Female Presenter of the Year

Cecilia Ramos – ALL FM
Rupa Mooker – Awaz FM
Leigh Chambers – Cambridge 105 Radio
Dr Audrey Tang – NLive Radio
Gina Mills – Radio Skye

Male Presenter of the Year

Neil Kefford – Academy FM Thanet
Matt Webb – Cambridge 105 Radio
Jonathan Baker – Ipswich Community Radio
Connor Morgans – Radio Cardiff
Stephen Higgs – Switch Radio

Community Show of the Year

Wrexham Remembers – Remembrance Day 2021 – Calon FM
A Tribute to Allan Brigham – Cambridge 105 Radio
All About Frome – Frome FM
A Space to Speak Your Mind – SourceFM
The Short Breaks Show – Vectis Radio

Live Event or Outside Broadcast of the Year – Sponsored by In:Quality

The Barry Island Festival of Food – Bro Radio
Iron To Iron – Erewash Sound
Marlow Town Regatta and Festival – Marlow FM
Hustings 2022 – Radio Skye
Vanarama National League Playoff Final – Switch Radio

Entertainment Show of the Year

Paul James – Academy FM Thanet
Rupa Mooker – Awaz FM
Natasha Reneaux – BFBS ALDERSHOT
We Are Young – Erewash Sound
Currently Country – K107fm

Speech & Journalism of the Year

One Love One Planet – BCfm Radio
All change on Huntingdonshire District Council – Black Cat Radio
Friday Night Clive (Clive Payne) – Black Country Radio
Fighting Fear With Hope – Radio LaB 97.1FM
West Kent Radio News feature – Ukraine Refugee Support Group – West Kent Radio

Arts & Creative Radio of the Year

The Easts – Cambridge 105 Radio
Untitled – Pantomime 2021 – Chelmsford Community Radio
Hills Are Alive – Spark
Be the Sea – Spark
The Signalman – Andrew Birt – Purbeck Coast FM

Specialist Music Show of the Year

The Letty Rock Show – K107fm
Saltire Indie Rock Show – Paisley FM 107.5
Wake Up to the Weekend with Connor Morgans – Radio Cardiff
Priya Matharu – Switch Radio
Dirty Dancefloors – Switch Radio

Sports Show of the Year

Black Country Saturday Sports Show – Black Country Radio
Saturday Sports Show – Twitter Spaces – K107fm
Radio Plus Sports Show – Coventry United Ladies Coverage – Radio Plus Coventry
Skye Spòrs – Radio Skye
The Radio Verulam Local Football Show – Radio Verulam

Volunteer of the Year

Tom Walker – Black Country Radio
Robin Zhang – Radio Cardiff
Mark Draper – Sheppey FM 92.2
Ron Leleux – Vectis Radio
Maggie Currie – Vectis Radio

Young Person of the Year (under 25)

Daisy Barker – Chelmsford Community Radio
Amelia Salmons – Erewash Sound
Toby Crabb – Radio LaB 97.1FM
Luke Eveling – Radio Skye
Megan Hayward – Spark

Sage Person (Over 60)

Craig Mitchell – K107fm
John Murray – K107fm
John Rumble – Marlow FM
Jim Campbell – Radio Skye
Kelvin Milton Currie – Vectis Radio

Newcomer of the Year – Sponsored by The Radio Hub

Andrew Pitney – 106.9SFM
Chloe Monaghan – Bro Radio
Jenna Cockburn – Radio Saltire
John Reid-Hansen – Red Kite Radio
Anna Gillingham-Sutton – Sheppey FM 92.2

Innovation Award – Sponsored by Hippynet

Twitter Spaces for the Saturday Sports Show – K107fm
Phoenix FM’s Night Shift – Phoenix FM – Halifax
Falmouth to Falmouth – SourceFM
The 4ps Training School for young people – Vectis Radio

Podcast – Sponsored by AutoPod

The Ask the Regulator Podcast – Bro Radio
Self Injury Support – Gentle Activism
Dogs with Jobs – Petersfield’s Shine Radio
The Shine Radio Recipe with Noni Needs – Petersfield’s Shine Radio
Switch Radio’s Women’s Football Podcast – Switch Radio

Digital or RSL Station Of The Year

Avondale Radio
Petersfield’s Shine Radio
Poppyland Radio
Radio Ysbyty Gwynedd
River Radio Ni

Covid and Community Rebuild

Covid and Community Rebuild – Awaaz FM
#MercatMarriage – K107fm
Tommyfield Live – Oldham Community Radio 99.7FM
#CovidConversations – Radio LaB 97.1FM
Think on Our feet – Vectis Radio

Posted on Sunday, October 9th, 2022 at 8:09 am by RadioToday UK

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories