Three new appointments at Performing Right Society Members’ Council

PRS Members’ Council has announced new and renewed appointments for Julian Nott, Alexander Kassner and Michelle Escoffery.

Media composer Julian Nott has been appointed the new Chair starting on 1 January 2023.

Elected to the PRS Members’ Council in 2021, having previously served on the PRS Board from 2010 to 2019, Nott has scored music for Wallace and Gromit, Peppa Pig and Ben and Holly’s Little Kingdom.

His composer credits also include shows such as Lark Rise to Candleford and ITV’s The Vice.

Nott’s previous roles have included working as a management consultant with Arthur Andersen Management Consultants (now Accenture) and as a writer for the Economist Publications. He also sits on the MCPS Board as the Writer Representative.

Head of Legal and Business Affairs at Kassner Music, Alexander Kassner, will take the role of Deputy Chair, succeeding composer Dru Masters. Kassner is also a director of MCPS and PPL PRS Ltd, as well as Chair of the Popular Music Publishers Committee of the MPA.

And Michelle Escoffery has been re-appointed as President.

Julian says: “I am honoured to have been elected as Chair of the Members’ Council, and look forward to working closely with Andrea, Michelle and Alex to drive PRS’ ambitious agenda. The Members’ Council and PRS Team are aligned in our desire to ensure we deliver the best possible society for members.

“I would like to personally thank Nigel Elderton, his tireless efforts and leadership as our Chair have been instrumental in PRS for Music’s evolution and successes.”

Michelle says, “I am delighted to have the opportunity to continue as the PRS President and I look forward to accelerating the championing of music creators of all statures, genres and backgrounds.”

Alexander says: “I look forward to starting my new role as Deputy Chair and supporting Julian and Michelle in collectively promoting positive change and innovation. My sincere thanks to Dru Masters who throughout his tenure as Deputy Chair has provided his leadership and industry expertise to support the Council’s important activities.”

Nigel Elderton, Chair of the PRS Members’ Council, says, “Congratulations to Julian and Alex on their appointments. The Council is left in your safe hands, and I am confident you will continue a path of success for the members of PRS. My congratulations to Michelle also, whose advocacy on behalf of members have already made a marked difference to PRS”

Andrea Czapary Martin, CEO, PRS for Music says, “My congratulations to Julian and Alexander on their appointments, I know their significant expertise and experience will be an enormous asset to PRS. Also, huge congratulations to Michelle on her re-appointment as President. As PRS evolves and grows, the Members’ Council will have an essential role in setting our future direction and ensuring we remain a world leading society.”

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories