Nominations announced for the Student Radio Awards 2023

This year’s shortlist for the Student Radio Awards are out representing a large number of university radio stations around the UK.

The main Station of the Year shortlist is between Cam FM, Leeds Student Radio, Queen’s Radio, Purple Radio, University Radio Nottingham and Xpress Radio.

Here’s the full list:

Best Newcomer

Edie Brady – Spark
Fion Cudmore – University Radio York
Harvey Mellor – University Radio York
Isabelle Hatton-Williams – Fuse FM
Rachael Proud – University Radio Nottingham
Thivyaa Rahulan – RAW

Best Multiplatform Initiative

Campus Live: Supporting Small Charities – Leeds Student Radio
12 Days of Christmas – Queen’s Radio
Purple Music Pod – Purple Radio
Purple Radiothon 2023 – Purple Radio
Round the Clock Radio Challenge: The Big Music Quiz South Region
RAW Sport Varsity 2023 – RAW

Best Technical Achievement

Boat Race – University Radio York
Candidate Interview Night – University Radio York
In Vision – Xpress Radio
Jake Kalender – Forge Radio
Roses 2023 – University Radio York
Triple Studio Project: The Long and Winding Road – Insanity Radio

Best Station Branding

Fuse FM
Leeds Student Radio
Purple Radio
South Bank Radio
University Radio Nottingham

Best Station Sound

KCL Radio
Shock Radio
Roses 2023
University Radio York and Bailrigg FM
University Radio Nottingham

The Diversity, Equality & Inclusion Award

Chutzpah! – Leeds Student Radio
Freshers 2.0 – Xpress Radio
Leeds Student Radio Daytime Teams – Leeds Student Radio
Melanin Queens – Cam FM
Queerest and Dearest
University Radio Nottingham
Unfiltered with Anahita – St Andrews Radio

Best Interview

Amelia Salmons interviews Chloe Ann – Fly Live
GRL: Gynae Gossip – Spark
Henrique Fenner-Leitao’s Interview with American Composer Jake Heggie for “Moments that Matter” – RAW
In conversation with: Charlie Jeffery and Pierrick Roger – University Radio York
Jack Wilfan Show interviews Co-Chair of Hull University Labour Club – Election Fallout Programme – JAM Radio
URN’s Pinch of Alt – Izzy Morris Interviews Alt Blk Era – University Radio Nottingham

Best Event Programming

1350AM: The Last Hurrah! – University Radio York
Battle of the Bands 2023 – Bailrigg FM
Nottingham Varsity 2023 – University Radio Nottingham
The SRA South Stations’ Round the Clock Radio Challenge South Region
SU Elections on URN – University Radio Nottingham
Roses 2023 – University Radio York

Best Chart Show Programming

Fly Live
LGSM Radio
Queen’s Radio
Shock Radio
University Radio York
Xpress Radio

Best Podcast Programming

A&E Politics – University Radio Bath
The Beat of the North East – Spark
Freshers 2.0 – Xpress Radio
Izzy Bailey – RAW
Purple Radio Drama – Purple Radio
University Radio Nottingham

The Joe Lyons Best Producer Award

Connor Begley Forge Radio
Dom Allin – University Radio Nottingham
Grace McDonough – Spark
Isabella Farlow – XpressionFM
Jake Chappell – Spark
Matty Fisher – Leeds Student Radio

Best Journalistic Programming

Cam and Jack’s Local Election Extravaganza! – JAM Radio
Durham Student Voice – Purple Radio
Grace McDonough – Spark
Insight – RAW
The Pulse – University Radio Nottingham
URNgasm – University Radio Nottingham

Best Specialist Music Programming

Homegrown Hip Hop with Chrissy Cameron – Spark
Indie Archive with Olly Hilton – University Radio York
K-Pop Kickoff – Sophie Lake – Insanity Radio
Living For The Weekend with Ali Glen – University Radio Nottingham
Lucy Crisp’s Top N Takeover – Fly Live
Singles of the Seventies – University Radio York

Best Sport Programming

LSR Varsity 2023 – Leeds Student Radio
RAW Sport Varsity 2023 – RAW
Sticky Wickets – University Radio Nottingham
They Think It’s All Doha – University Radio Nottingham
Varsity: Bedfordshire vs Northampton – Radio LaB 97.1FM
The Welsh Varsity – The Final Rugby Showdown – Xpress Radio

Best Speech Programming

A New Age of Riot Grrrl documentary – Hope Lynes Spark
The Final Fanfayre – Dom Brown Spark
Freshers 2.0 – Xpress Radio
Grace McDonough – Spark
Rave Report – Spark
Who Took Mic? – Queen’s Radio

Best Entertainment Programming

Amelia Salmons’ Monday Breakfast Show – Fly Live
Book of Morons – Livewire1350
Freshers 2.0 – Xpress Radio
Honor Mant – Fuse FM
It’s Margot Mondays – University Radio Nottingham
Monday Breakfast with Tyler Selby – Spark

Best Presenter

Chris Howard – Spark
Daisy Cox – Cam FM
Hope Lynes – Spark
Jack Wilfan – JAM Radio
Jake Marney – Fly Live
Lewis Smith – Spark

Best Student Radio Station

Cam FM
Leeds Student Radio
Queen’s Radio
Purple Radio
University Radio Nottingham
Xpress Radio

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories