All the winners from the Student Radio Awards 2023

Leeds Student Radio took home the title of Best Student Radio Station at the Student Radio Awards 2023.

Industry folk, judges and students gathered at indigo at The O2 in London on Tuesday to see the awards announced in a ceremony hosted by Aimee Vivian from Capital and Dean McCullough from BBC Radio 1.

Honorary life memberships were also given out to Abbie Brock, Daniel Wildman, Thomas Rowson and Heart’s Pandora for all their work supporting the SRA.

Here are all the winners:

Best Newcomer 

Supported by BBC Asian Network 

Fion Cudmore University Radio York Harvey Mellor University Radio York Thivyaa Rahulan RAW 


Best Multiplatform Initiative 

Supported by Pineapple Audio Production 

12 Days of Christmas Queen’s Radio Round the Clock Radio Challenge: The Big Music Quiz South Region RAW Sport Varsity 2023 RAW 


Best Technical Achievement 

Supported by Aiir 

Jake Kalender Forge Radio Roses 2023 University Radio York Triple Studio Project: The Long and Winding Road Insanity Radio 


Best Station Branding 

Supported by Painting Pixels 

Fuse FM 

Leeds Student Radio 

Purple Radio 


Best Station Sound 

Supported by Wizz FX 

Shock Radio 

Roses 2023 University Radio York and Bailrigg FM University Radio Nottingham


The Diversity, Equality & Inclusion Award 

Supported by News UK 

Leeds Student Radio Daytime Teams Leeds Student Radio Melanin Queens Cam FM Unfiltered with Anahita St Andrews Radio 


Best Interview 

Supported by Times Radio 

Amelia Salmons interviews Chloe Ann Fly Live GRL: Gynae Gossip Spark Henrique Fenner-Leitao’s Interview with American Composer Jake Heggie for “Moments that Matter” RAW 


Best Event Programming 

Supported by Capital’s Jingle Bell Ball 

1350AM: The Last Hurrah! University Radio York SU Elections on URN University Radio Nottingham Roses 2023 University Radio York 


Best Chart Show Programming 

Supported by BBC Radio 1 

Queen’s Radio 

Shock Radio 

University Radio York 


Best Podcast Programming 

Supported by BBC Sounds 

The Beat of the North East Spark Freshers 2.0 Xpress Radio Purple Radio Drama Purple Radio


The Joe Lyons Award for Best Producer  

Supported by Global 

Connor Begley Forge Radio Jake Chappell Spark Matty Fisher Leeds Student Radio 


Best Journalistic Programming 

Supported by Bauer Media Audio UK 

Cam and Jack’s Local Election Extravaganza! JAM Radio The Pulse University Radio Nottingham URNgasm University Radio Nottingham 


Best Specialist Music Programming 

Supported by BBC Radio 1Xtra 

Indie Archive with Olly Hilton University Radio York Lucy Crisp’s Top N Takeover Fly Live Singles of the Seventies University Radio York 


Best Sport Programming 

Supported by TalkSPORT 

RAW Sport Varsity 2023 RAW They Think It’s All Doha University Radio Nottingham The Welsh Varsity – The Final Rugby Showdown Xpress Radio 


Best Speech Programming 

Supported by LBC 

A New Age of Riot Grrrl documentary – Hope Lynes Spark Freshers 2.0 Xpress Radio Who Took Mic? Queen’s Radio


Best Entertainment Programming 

Supported by Global 

Honor Mant Fuse FM It’s Margot Mondays University Radio Nottingham Monday Breakfast with Tyler Selby Spark 


Best Presenter 

Supported by BBC Radio 1 

Daisy Cox Cam FM Hope Lynes Spark Jack Wilfan JAM Radio 


Best Student Radio Station 

Supported by Global 

Leeds Student Radio 

Purple Radio 

Xpress Radio 


Kevin Greening Award for Creativity 

Rebekah Newnes (Best Newcomer) Queen’s Radio RAW Sport Varsity 2023 (Best Multiplatform Initiative) RAW Ali Glen (Best Presenter) University Radio Nottingham

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories