Arqiva Commercial Radio Awards
Posted by
Arqiva Commercial Radio Awards

UTV’s national speech station talkSPORT is the toast of commercial radio after picking up 4 awards at this year’s Arqivas. talkSPORT took the Gold Award – plus Station of the Year (over 1 million TSA), Programmer of the Year and the Technical Innovation Award. Presenter of the Year was Rock FM’s Adam Caterall, whilst Manchester Emap station Key 103 picked up the News award.

On receiving the award on behalf of talkSPORT, Scott Taunton, UTV Radio, managing director, said: “I would like to congratulate my friends and colleagues at talkSPORT for this unprecedented show of recognition from our industry peers. To the best of my knowledge, no station has ever walked away with four awards. It’s a fantastic result for all of those involved with the station.”

It was hosted by Virgin Radio’s Christian O’Connell, and guest presenters included radio veteran Tony Blackburn, newscaster Katie Derham, Heart 106.2’s Jamie Theakston and Classic FM’s Jamie Crick.

Station of the Year (< 300,000 TSA) went to Portsmouth’s 107.4 The Quay – judges commented on how the station had successfully found a niche and exploited it. Belfast’s Citybeat took the mid-sized station of the year (300,000 — 1 million TSA) for a “businesslike approach that sounded great fun to be part of”. Citybeat Station Director, Richard Collett told us:

“We were delighted when we heard we were nominated for this accolade but to win in the face of such strong competition from other great UK radio stations is really unbelievable! It’s great for the station as a whole, and Citybeat are extremely proud to be flying the flag of excellence for Northern Ireland radio on a local, national and international level.

The Station Sound Award went to 96.3 Radio Aire, Judges, meanwhile, said that Key 103’s journalists put themselves in the story as it was happening and gave first person accounts that put them ahead of the pack as this year’s winners of the News Award. Feature of the Year went to Radio City for its retelling of the Toxteth riots, while 100.7 Heart FM was awarded the Commercial Radio Marketing Award with promotions that judges said cut through a crowded market.

The Arqiva/IRN Newslink Special Award (presented to a person who the judging committee believe merits the recognition of the Commercial Radio industry over the last 12 months or longer) was awarded to Magic 105.4’s managing director, Andria Vidler. Andria joined Magic in June 2005 and has steered the station to become the No. 1 Commercial Radio station in London.

A new award was also handed out to mark the first year that the RadioCentre has taken charge of the awards – the “Chairman’s Award” went to new GCap digital station, theJazz, which only launched last December.

Arqiva’s Head of Radio, Paul Eaton said: “Yet again, the Arqiva Awards have emphasised the scale of talent across the UK and we are delighted with the results. It is also good to see the introduction of the Station Creative Award (won by Real Radio Yorkshire) as this recognises a contribution which should not be ignored. The ongoing success of the awards year after year justifies Arqiva’s commitment to them and we would like to congratulate all of this year’s deserving winners.”

Andrew Harrison, CEO of the RadioCentre told us he was pleased with the record number of entries this year, “The list of entrants this year truly reflects the diversity and creativity of the people and stations that make up today’s UK Commercial Radio industry. Congratulations to all the winners.”

Here’s the list of winners in full….

Marketing Award – 100.7 Heart FM — Station Marketing

Local Sales Team of the Year – Wave 105

National Sales Team of the Year - Virgin Radio

Station of the Year < 300,000 TSA – 107.4 The Quay

Station of the Year 300,000 — 1 million TSA – Citybeat

Station of the Year > 1 million TSA – talkSPORT

Programmer of the Year - Bill Ridley, talkSPORT

Presentation Newcomer(s) of the Year - Tom Braham, The Saint

Presenter(s) of the Year - Adam Catterall, 97.4 Rock FM

Station Sound - 96.3 Radio Aire

News Award – Key 103

Programme or Feature of the Year – Welcome to Liverpool 8 — Radio City

Station Creative Award - WYCR ‘GPS’ (106-108 Real Radio Creative Team)

Technical Innovation Award – talkSPORT

Digital Station of the Year - Gaydar

Social Action Award – Star Cambridge ‘Liam’s Mile’

The Neil Robinson Memorial Award – Nikki Murray, 97.4 Rock FM

The Arqiva/IRN Newslink Special Award – Andria Vidler, Magic

The Arqiva Gold Award - talkSPORT

The RadioCentre Chairman’s Award - theJazz

Hear more radio industry news like this at the top of the hour on inRadio - the radio industry's very own radio station. Listen now in a new window whilst you continue reading RadioToday or press play below.

0 0 571 02 July, 2007 Industry News 2:46 pm 20077 Monday, July 2nd, 2007

Leave a Reply

Looking for something else?


Subscribe to our emails to stay informed about the latest radio news and products delivered straight to your inbox.

Related Posts

No related posts were found
Doing the DAB in Manchester - December 8, 2016 at 6:00 pm (Texture Bar, Manchester)
BBC Music Awards 2016 - December 12, 2016 at 8:00 pm (ExCeL London 1 Western Gateway, London, E16 1XL, England)
Deadline for entries: IRN Awards - January 17, 2017 at 5:00 pm ()
European Radio Show - January 29, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
European Radio Show - January 30, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
European Radio Show - January 31, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
RAJAR delivered to stations Q4 2016 - February 8, 2017 at 10:30 am ()
Radiodays Europe 2017 - March 19, 2017 at 12:00 am (Amsterdam, Netherlands)
More events