Awards given at Academy dinner
Posted by
Awards given at Academy dinner

Three awards were handed out at last night's Radio Festival dinner, and there were also four new entrants to the Hall of Fame and one new Radio Academy fellow announced.

Lady Gaga was named the year's most played artist on UK Radio, while there were leading industry awards for Metro Radio's Alan Robson and Radio 1's Tim Westwood.

Westwood – who does drive on digital station 1Xtra – was presented with the PRS John Peel Award for Outstanding Contribution to Music Radio by his Radio 1/1Xtra boss Andy Parfitt. In his speech, Tim thanked Andy for not sacking him when he got shot. Parfitt had said in the introduction that he was the only presenter who he'd visited in hospital under armed guard.

The Nielsen Award for Most Played Artist on UK Radio was given to Lady Gaga (although she didn't make it to Gorton in Manchester to collect it in person).

And, formerly part of the Sony Awards, the Local & Regional Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Metro Radio legend Alan Robson who presents the Night Owls show on the Newcastle-based station.

One new Radio Academy Fellow was announced this year – Lisa Kerr. Lisa is the Campaign Director for Digital Radio UK and a former award-winning presenter and producer for Radio Forth and Classic FM.

The main event was the new inductees to the Radio Academy Hall of Fame – this year four were announced. [link=]As reported by last week,[/link] they went to David 'Kid' Jensen, Bob Harris, Nicholas Parsons and Dave Lee Travis.

[link=]See pictures [/link]from the 2010 Hall of Fame Dinner as part of our coverage of this year's Radio Festival. We've also got [link=]live blogging[/link] and [link=]videos[/link].

Hear more radio industry news like this at the top of the hour on inRadio - the radio industry's very own radio station. Listen now in a new window whilst you continue reading RadioToday or press play below.

0 0 425 19 October, 2010 Industry News 10:39 pm 201010 Tuesday, October 19th, 2010

Leave a Reply

Looking for something else?


Subscribe to our emails to stay informed about the latest radio news and products delivered straight to your inbox.

Related Posts

No related posts were found
RAJAR Q3 2016 - October 26, 2016 at 11:00 pm (London)
WorldDAB General Assembly 2016 - November 9, 2016 at 10:00 am ()
Student Radio Awards - November 10, 2016 at 6:00 pm (The O₂ 10 Entertainment Avenue, London, SE10 0DY, England)
BBC Gillard Awards - November 10, 2016 at 7:00 pm (Newcastle)
Audio Production Awards - November 23, 2016 at 6:00 pm (BFI Southbank, Belvedere Road, London)
Radio TechCon 2016 - November 28, 2016 at 10:00 am (The Arts Theatre, 6-7 Great Newport St, London WC2H 7JB)
Salon de la Radio - January 29, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
Salon de la Radio - January 30, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
More events