Hospital radio nominated for news award
Posted by
Hospital radio nominated for news award

A hospital radio station in Devon has been nominated for a regional news and current affairs award, against the BBC.

Hospital Radio Plymouth is hoping to beat Radio Cornwall to the title of Radio News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year in the EDF Energy South West Media Awards.

The station is no stranger to winning awards – it has been winner or runner up for Station of the Year in the National Hospital Radio Awards for each of the past four years as well as being crowned Volunteer Team of the Year in local Inspiring Volunteering Awards in 2009.

Hospital Radio Plymouth Station Manager Andrew Hill told “A lot of effort went into our city election coverage and I am delighted we are in the final three being considered for the regional EDF award.”

It is the second time in 3 years the station has been a shortlisted finalist in the awards. In 2009 their Josie Scobling was a runner up for Radio Journalist of the Year for a documentary on the effects a stroke can have.

Also nominated, BBC Radio Cornwall’s Debbie McCrory is up for Newcomer of the Year, whilst Robin Markwell from BBC Radio Bristol and Laurence Reed from BBC Radio Cornwall battle it out for Radio Journalist of the Year.

The 2011 Awards will be held at the Energy Skills Centre, Bridgwater, Somerset, on Thursday 2 June, and we’ll tweet the winner on RadioTodayLive once announced.

Hear more radio industry news like this at the top of the hour on inRadio - the radio industry's very own radio station. Listen now in a new window whilst you continue reading RadioToday or press play below.

0 4 659 30 May, 2011 Hospital Radio News 6:24 pm 20115 Monday, May 30th, 2011

Leave a Reply

Looking for something else?


Subscribe to our emails to stay informed about the latest radio news and products delivered straight to your inbox.

Related Posts

RAJAR Q3 2016 - October 26, 2016 at 11:00 pm (London)
WorldDAB General Assembly 2016 - November 9, 2016 at 10:00 am ()
Student Radio Awards - November 10, 2016 at 6:00 pm (The O₂ 10 Entertainment Avenue, London, SE10 0DY, England)
BBC Gillard Awards - November 10, 2016 at 7:00 pm (Newcastle)
Audio Production Awards - November 23, 2016 at 6:00 pm (BFI Southbank, Belvedere Road, London)
Radio TechCon 2016 - November 28, 2016 at 10:00 am (The Arts Theatre, 6-7 Great Newport St, London WC2H 7JB)
Salon de la Radio - January 29, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
Salon de la Radio - January 30, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
More events