Radio 2 names New Comedy award winner
Posted by
Radio 2 names New Comedy award winner

Radio 2’s search for the country’s best new comedy talent has concluded, with Angela Barnes crowned the winner in a public vote.

She’ll get the chance to perform a slot that will air as part of the station’s Comedy Zone as well as being interviewed as part of 2DAY later this week.

The final of the process was hosted by Patrick Kielty last night and broadcast live from The Tabernacle in Notting Hill.

Six finalists were critiqued by a panel including Radio 2 Head of Programmes Lewis Carnie as well as established comedians Sarah Millican and Stephen K Amos.

As part of her prize, Angela – who’s from Maidstone in Kent but now lives in Brighton – will also receive development advice and guidance from BBC Radio Comedy and the possibility of appearing on other slots on BBC Radio.

She said: “This is a massive privilege and the fact it was a public vote makes it all the more special. It’s been an amazing journey with brilliant people and I hope this will open some doors and I look forward to gigging with my fellow finalists on the comedy circuit.”

The competition was open to any act over 18 years of age who has been performing on the comedy circuit as a stand-up for less than three years. From over 600 entries, the six finalists had beaten their way through hotly contested regional heats and the semi-finals.

Radio 2 has revived the old ‘BBC New Comedy Award’, which originally ran from 1995 to 2001. Previous winners include Alan Carr, Rhod Gilbert and Marcus Brigstocke.

Hear more radio industry news like this at the top of the hour on inRadio - the radio industry's very own radio station. Listen now in a new window whilst you continue reading RadioToday or press play below.

0 3 920 20 June, 2011 Station News 10:15 am 20116 Monday, June 20th, 2011

Leave a Reply

Looking for something else?


Subscribe to our emails to stay informed about the latest radio news and products delivered straight to your inbox.

Related Posts

WorldDAB General Assembly 2016 - November 9, 2016 at 10:00 am ()
Student Radio Awards - November 10, 2016 at 6:00 pm (The O₂ 10 Entertainment Avenue, London, SE10 0DY, England)
BBC Gillard Awards - November 10, 2016 at 7:00 pm (Newcastle)
Audio Production Awards - November 23, 2016 at 6:00 pm (BFI Southbank, Belvedere Road, London)
Radio TechCon 2016 - November 28, 2016 at 10:00 am (The Arts Theatre, 6-7 Great Newport St, London WC2H 7JB)
Salon de la Radio - January 29, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
Salon de la Radio - January 30, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
Salon de la Radio - January 31, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
More events