Berkshire wins Gillard Station of the Year
Posted by
Berkshire wins Gillard Station of the Year

BBC Radio Berkshire has been named as the “Station of the Year” at this year’s BBC Local Radio Frank Gillard Awards.‬

The station gained profile this year with its exhaustive coverage of Olympic Rowing which was based in its editorial area at Eton Dorney. ‬The team also picked up a second Gillard Award for its sport coverage.‬

‪BBC Tees picked up two Gillard Awards – one for “Left Behind” – its investigation into missing people – and the other for its reporter Lisa McCormick who was named as “Journalist of the Year”.‬ BBC WM also scooped two golds – one for original journalism for The Adrian Goldberg Programme and the other for its coverage of the Olympic Torch Relay in the West Midlands.‬

‪The Gillard Awards, named in honour of the founder of BBC Local Radio Frank Gillard, were presented by BBC Trustee for England Alison Hastings at a ceremony in Gateshead.‬

The results in full:‬

‪BBC Local Radio Station of the Year: Gold – BBC Radio Berkshire; Silver – BBC Radio Tees; Bronze – BBC Solent

‪Breakfast Programme: Gold – BBC Essex; Silver – Toby Foster, BBC Radio Sheffield; Bronze – Adam Tomlinson, BBC Radio York ‬

Programme Presenter: Gold – Sean Styles, BBC Radio Merseyside; Silver – Andrew Peach, BBC Radio Berkshire; Bronze – Toby Foster, BBC Radio Sheffield ‬

‪Original Journalism: Gold: BBC WM – Adrian Goldberg; Silver – BBC Essex – James Melley; Joint Bronze: BBC Radio Oxford – Emma Vardy; BBC Radio Merseyside – Silent Sentences‬

‪Breaking News: Gold: BBC Radio Derby – Derby House Fire and Child Murders; Silver – BBC Tees: Darlington FC; Bronze – BBC Radio Manchester – Gas Explosion in Oldham‬

‪Journalist of the Year: Gold: Lisa McCormick, BBC Tees; Silver – Johnny I’Anson, BBC Radio Leeds; Bronze – Steve Becker, BBC Radio Lancashire; ‬

‪Impact: Gold: BBC Tees – Left Behind; Silver – BBC Radio Leeds -Love for Sale; Bronze – BBC WM – The Red Alert Appeal‬

‪Best Mid-Morning: Gold – Melvyn Prior, BBC Radio Lincolnshire; Silver – Jonathan Cowap, BBC Radio York; Bronze – Danny Pike, BBC Sussex & Surrey ‬

‪The Ultimate Hot Seat: Gold – Jonathan Cowap’s Big Conversation, BBC Radio York; Silver – Andrew Peach, BBC Radio Berkshire; Bronze – Roger Phillips, BBC Radio Merseyside‬

‪Sports Coverage: Gold: BBC Radio Berkshire – Olympic Rowing; Silver: BBC Sussex and Surrey – Brighton and Hove Albion: The Road to Falmer; Bronze: BBC Radio Leeds -Nicola Adams’ Gold Run‬

Best Multi Media Treatment: Gold – BBC WM Torch Relay; Silver – BBC Newcastle Blaydon Races; Bronze – BBC Radio Leeds – Amazing Grace‬

‪Faith Programming: Gold – Emma Philpotts, BBC Radio Norfolk; Silver- BBC Radio Cambridgeshire; Bronze – Joe Wilson, BBC Radio Lancashire ‬

‪Station Promotion Campaign: Gold BBC Radio Oxford – Cornbury Festival; Silver: BBC Radio Solent – Titanic 100; Bronze – BBC Radio Leeds – Amazing Grace: Journey of a Swan ‬

Outstanding Contribution Award: Tony Beard, presenter, BBC Radio Devon

Hear more radio industry news like this at the top of the hour on inRadio - the radio industry's very own radio station. Listen now in a new window whilst you continue reading RadioToday or press play below.

0 0 1902 18 October, 2012 Industry News 11:06 pm 201210 Thursday, October 18th, 2012

Leave a Reply

Looking for something else?


Subscribe to our emails to stay informed about the latest radio news and products delivered straight to your inbox.

Related Posts

Helen Boaden in Conversation - January 16, 2017 at 6:15 pm (David Puttnam Media Centre, University of Sunderland SR6 0DD)
Deadline for entries: IRN Awards - January 17, 2017 at 5:00 pm ()
European Radio Show - January 29, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
European Radio Show - January 30, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
European Radio Show - January 31, 2017 at 10:00 am (Paris)
RAJAR delivered to stations Q4 2016 - February 8, 2017 at 10:30 am ()
Radiodays Europe 2017 - March 19, 2017 at 12:00 am (Amsterdam, Netherlands)
IRN Awards - March 23, 2017 at 6:00 pm ()
More events