Classic FM hosts Teacher awards

The Classic FM Music Teacher of the Year Awards 2007have taken place at London’s Chappell music store in Wardour Street. Presenter Jane Jones and Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Education Lord Andrew Adonis presented the awards.

The competition, which is run in association with Yamaha and Sibelius, seeks to recognize and reward those teachers who have made a real difference to the musical life of their school.

The two top music teachers, one from a primary and one from a secondary school, were named as Chris Brook from Thomas Cowley High School in Donington, Lincolnshire and Brian Cripps from Glenfall Community Primary School in Cheltenham.

Speaking about the awards, Classic FM managing director Darren Henley said: “An inspirational music teacher can foster a lifelong love of music and these awards seek to reward and recognise those teachers who use music to transform lives. The ten Classic FM Music Teacher of the Year Award finalists are a testament to the hard work carried out in schools throughout the country and we’re delighted to pay tribute to their enthusiasm and dedication.”

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories