Shortlist announced at Xfm

The shortlist for Xfm's New Music Award, which recognises the best UK debut album of 2007, has been released by the station this morning. Ten bands will go head to head at the ceremony at Koko in Camden on 16th January 2008.

The winner will be decided by a judging panel of music industry VIP’s live on the night when many of the bands on the shortlist will perform live. The judging panel includes Xfm’s very own John Kennedy from Xfm London, Clint Boon from Xfm Manchester, Jim Gellatly from Xfm Scotland, Colin Francies from Xfm South Wales. Along with a mixture of musicians, producers and journalists including Maximo Park’s Paul Smith, Nicky Wire from Manic Street Preachers, producer John Leckie and editor of NME Conor McNicholas.

Newly promoted Ande Macpherson will chair the event.

Xfm’s head of music Mike Walsh said ‘"We've always known that Xfm listeners have excellent taste and here is more proof. This is a very strong list of 10 great British debut albums and Xfm is proud to have been associated with all of them. I'm really looking forward to seeing what the judges decide is the overall winner, it will not be an easy call."

The nominees that received the most votes over the past two weeks (in alphabetical order) are:

Air Traffic 'Fractured Life'
The Enemy 'We'll Live and Die In These Towns'
Frank Turner 'Sleep Is For The Week'
Kate Nash 'Made Of Bricks'
Klaxons 'Myths Of The Near Future'
The Maccabees 'Colour It In'
The Pigeon Detectives 'Wait For Me'
The Twang 'Love It When I Feel Like This'
The View 'Hats Off To The Buskers'
The Wombats 'Proudly Present.. A Guide To Love, Loss and Desperation'

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories