with RCS

Ofcom awards four, rejects one

In Ofcom's latest community radio awards, four groups have been granted a 5-year licence, whilst one, South Holland Radio in Whaplode, Lincolnshire has been rejected.

The four new stations are Amber Sound FM in Ripley, Derbyshire, Erewash Sound in Derby, Takeover Radio in Sutton in Ashfield and Tulip Radio in Spalding.

Amber Sound FM will be a radio service dedicated solely to the Amber Valley in the heart of Derbyshire, Erewash Sound will be presented and produced by local people. It will offer a dedicated community-orientated, comprehensive, relevant and essential service, Takeover Radio will entertain the youngsters with a mix of popular music and Tulip Radio will act as a unifying voice across this sparsely populated area and will be accessible to all sections of the local community.

Ofcom has still yet to announce the final round of Manchester community radio applications from five months ago, and are currently investigating the availability of frequencies in the city.

You might also like

Comments are closed.