Hall of Fame for Harris and DLT

Radio Today can reveal that Bob Harris, Dave Lee Travis, Nicholas Parsons and David 'Kid' Jensen will be inducted into the Radio Academy's Hall of Fame next week.

The four legends of the industry will be honoured at the special dinner – this year moved from December to be part of the Radio Festival – on Tuesday night.

The Radio Academy Hall of Fame, sponsored by PRS for Music, is the UK radio industry's tribute to those legendary voices who make and have made an outstanding contribution to the sound of British radio and to British cultural life.

At last year's event Sir Terry Wogan became part of radio's elite, joining the ranks as he prepared to leave the Radio 2 breakfast show.

This year the ceremony takes place at The Monastery in east Manchester – just across the city from this year's Radio Festival at Salford Quays.

As well as inducting the four into the Hall of Fame, the Radio Academy will also be announcing the winners of the PRS John Peel Award for Outstanding Contribution to Music Radio, the Nielsen Award for Most Played Artist on UK Radio and The Local & Regional Lifetime Achievement Award (formerly part of the Sony Radio Academy Awards).

Radio Today is the official media partner of the Radio Festival 2010 – we'll be live from Salford Quays next week providing live blog updates, photos and video interviews with some of the big names attending. We'll also have all the goss from the PPL Party and the Hall of Fame Dinner.

This year's inductees to the Radio Hall of Fame

'Whispering' Bob Harris has had a long career in both commercial radio and at the BBC. He started in radio at Radio 1 in 1970 before working at stations including Radio Luxembourg, Radio 210, BBC Radio Oxford, LBC, GWR, Broadland, Hereward, BFBS, The Superstation then returning to Radio 1 for six years from 1987-93. After a spell at BBC GLR, he's been at stalwart of the Radio 2 line-up since 1997.

DLT started at Radio Caroline in 1965 before joining Radio 1 in '68, working his way up to host the breakfast show 1978-80. From 1983 until 'that day' in August 1993 Dave was on air on weekend mornings. Since then he's worked for Classic Gold, Garrison Radio, BBC Three Counties, and – currently – the Magic network. Perhaps his most famous award before this one was when he was named Pipe Smoker of the Year in 1982.

Canadian-born Kid Jensen first came to prominence through Radio Luxembourg in the late 1960s and went on to work for Radio Trent in Nottingham as it launched in the mid-70s. David joined Radio 1 in 1976, then Capital in '84. He's perhaps most famous nationally in radio for the Network Chart which he did until 1993. David swapped Capital for Heart in 1998 but returned to Leicester Square in 2002 and has been a mainstay of the Gold brands ever since, as well as being a regular on Planet Rock.

Nicholas Parsons has been the host of Radio 4's Just A Minute since the very first show on 22 January 1967 and has been heard in every edition of the panel game where contestants have to talk for 60 seconds on a given subject, without repetition, hesitation or deviation. He's been a TV regular as an actor, presenter and panel show guest, and is perhaps one of the most famous to don stockings and suspenders for the role of the narrator in theatre productions of The Rocky Horror Show.

Need a new or improved logo for your radio station? Visit OhMy.Graphics and see how awesome you can look.
Posted on Wednesday, October 13th, 2010 at 5:37 pm by RadioToday UK

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories
buy metformin metformin online