R4 and Absolute lead Sony noms

Radio 4 has received 22 nominations for this year's main Sony Radio Academy Awards – more than any other station – with Absolute Radio getting 15 and leading the commercial radio shortlisted entrants.

BBC Radio 5 Live's Victoria Derbyshire becomes the first female broadcaster to receive three nominations in the same year, while Frank Skinner is also up for three awards.

The nominations were announced in central London last night at an event hosted by Capital FM and Classic FM's Margherita Taylor and Radio 2/6 Music's Huey Morgan. The Gold, Silver and Bronze winners will be announced on 9 May.

In a year of many football World Cup entries, talkSPORT are shortlisted in six categories, including UK Station of the Year where they face competition from BBC networks Radio 3 and Radio 4. In the Station of the Year (300k to 1m TSA) it's an all-BBC battle between Radios Cumbria, Derby and Somerset; while in the 1m-plus category North West stations Real Radio and Radio City are up against BBC London 94.9.

At Breakfast, the 10m-plus TSA category will be fought out between previous Sony winners Evans, O'Connell, Ferrari and Campbell/Fogarty, while in the Breakfast Show of the Year (under 10m TSA) category, four out of five of the shortlisted teams are from commercial radio – Jack FM Oxford, Juice FM Liverpool, Key 103 Manchester, and Kerrang West Midlands are up against former commercial radio man Graham Mack, now of BBC Radio Wiltshire.

As well as the main categories, the shortlist was also announced for the Rising Star Award, which is voted for by the public. This year's contenders are Radio 1's Matt Edmondson, 5 Live pundit Robbie Savage, Absolute's Ronnie Wood, Sarah Thompson of Roundhouse Radio, and Metro Newcastle news journalist Simon Conway.

You can see the full list of nominations in all categories [link=https://radiotoday.co.uk/news.php?extend.6880]here[/link]. On the awards night there will also be the Gold Award, Special Award and Station Programmer of the Year prizes given out at the discretion of the Awards Committee. In the latter, it's between Ian Walker of Jack FM Oxford, Matt Deegan of Fun Kids and Moz Dee of talkSPORT.

Tim Blackmore, Chairman of the Sony Radio Academy Awards said: "Once again, more than 1,000 entries have demonstrated the huge diversity and the impressive standards delivered by Britain's radio industry. The power of audio continues to enrich all our lives through the ever increasing range of platforms celebrated by these Awards."

Posted on Wednesday, March 30th, 2011 at 11:20 pm by RadioToday UK

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories