Folded Wing named Indie of the Year

Folded Wing have been named Indie of the year at the Radio Academy’s Radio Production Awards.

There were also four prizes for Somethin’ Else and two for The Wireless Theatre Company’s Mariele Runacre Temple.

The winners were announced at the 229 The Venue in Central London at an event hosted by 6 Music presenter and Now Show contributor Jon Holmes.

Karen Pearson, director and founder of Folded Wing told “It’s an honour to be recognised with such a prestigious award and is testimony to the passion, dedication and team work of everybody at Folded Wing. I couldn’t be more proud. A massive thanks to our clients who allow us to take risks with new forms of radio and have been a big support every step of the way”.

The Radio Production Awards were set up by the Radio Academy and the Radio Independents Group to reward achievement by individual producers and production companies demonstrated by work created and delivered during the previous 12 months.

Despite leading the nominations with 8 nods, UBC Media didn’t win any of the awards tonight. Folded Wing – who’s flagship production is Jamie Cullum’s show for Radio 2 – took the Gold prize in the Indie of the Year category, beating Somethin’ Else and Ten Alps into second and third places respectively.

talkSPORT took home the Best Station Imaging. Peter Gee, Head of Creative, said: “It’s a great honour to be recognised by the industry for what we do, and the achievement reflects how well we understand our audience. We’re all very passionate about working hard to produce material that’s a bit different and irreverent, as it gives the station a distinctive flavour.”

Chief Executive for talkSPORT, Scott Taunton, said: “This is a very deserved award indeed, as our creative team have been absolutely instrumental to building our success as a station, and essential to our unique appeal to both listeners and advertisers.”

Here’s the list of winners in full:

Best Documentary/Feature Maker
Russell Finch – Somethin’ Else

Best Entertainment Producer
Mariele Runacre Temple – The Wireless Theatre Company

Best Music Entertainment Producer
Claire Neal – Somethin’ Else

Best Live Music (Concert)
Peggy Sutton – Somethin’ Else

Best Live Music (Studio)
Dean Woodcock – Absolute Radio

Best Online/Multi-Platform Creator
Mariele Runacre Temple – The Wireless Theatre Company

Best Drama Producer
Polly Thomas – Somethin’ Else

Best Newcomer
Cathy FitzGerald – Rockethouse Productions Ltd/BBC World Service

Best Creative
talkSPORT Creative (Imaging)

Best Readings Producer
Jill Waters – The Waters Company

Best Sound Designer
Peregrine Andrews – Moving Air Audio Productions

Indie of the Year
Bronze – Ten Alps
Silver – Somethin’ Else
Gold – Folded Wing

Posted on Monday, June 13th, 2011 at 8:50 pm by RadioToday UK

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories