Broadcasting Press Guild Awards for Radio 4

Chris Watson will be given the radio broadcaster of the year award at the Broadcasting Press Guild Awards later for his BBC Radio 4 programme, The Wire.

Archive on 4, meanwhile, is honoured as Radio Programme of the Year.

The awards – now in their 38th year – cover both TV and radio and winners are chosen by journalists who write about the media. They are being presented at the Theatre Royal Drury Lane today.

Watson beat other nominees Sir David Attenborough and Jane Garvey to the award for The Wire, in which he talks to those who’ve recorded the sounds of wind blowing through miles of wire in the Australian outback.

Attenborough was shortlisted for Radio 4 20-part series Life Stories, while Garvey was nominated for her work on Woman’s Hour.

Archive on 4 was up against other Radio 4 programmes Clare in the Community and The Write Stuff.

Posted on Friday, March 30th, 2012 at 8:32 am by RadioToday UK

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories