Hospital Radio Plymouth wins best station

Hospital Radio Plymouth has been named station of the year for the second year running in the National Hospital Radio Awards.

Representatives of Harrogate Hospital Radio and Hospital Radio Chelmsford were the winners of the presenter of the year prizes at the ceremony this weekend.

Plymouth held on to Gold in the Station of the Year category, with Alan Dedicoat surprising those attending the ceremony in Northampton on Saturday night by arriving with seconds to spare to announce the Bronze, Silver and Gold winners in the category, having appeared 90 minutes earlier on BBC1 reading the Lotto numbers.

Other guests at the ceremony included Absolute Radio’s Head of Presentation Paul Sylvester and the Radio Academy’s John Myers, while video messages of support were sent from Radio 2’s Ken Bruce, Channel 4’s Jon Snow, singers Olly Murs and Alexandra Burke and Shadow Health Secretary Andy Burnham MP.

Lincs FM’s Director of Programming and HBA press office Sean Dunderdale once again hosted the event and was, himself, surprised with an award of his own. Sean received a standing ovation when Paul Sylvester presented him with the Outstanding Contribution Award, after revealing how Sean had come back from serious illness to produce and present what’s now an annual event in the Hospital Radio Calendar. Sean later joked that after 25 years of broadcasting, he had to fake an illness to get an award!

The full list of winners from the National Hospital Radio Awards 2012

Best Station Promotion
Bronze: Radio Northwick Park
Silver: Radio Grapevine
Gold: Harlow Hospital Radio

Specialist Music Programme
Bronze: Citybeat
Silver: HWD
Gold: Hospital Radio Bedside

Best Speech Package
Bronze: Hospital Radio Lion
Silver: Radio Redhill
Gold: Sunshine Radip

Best Special Event
Bronze: Radio Fox
Silver: Radio Redhill
Gold: Choice Radio

Best Newcomer
Bronze: Mark Ranger, Harlow HR
Silver: Neil Wilkes Coventry HR
Gold: Christine Rowley, HR Basingstoke

Volunteer of the Year
Noel Antcliff, Radio Wey

John Whitney Award
Malcolm Kirkby, Edinburgh HBS

Female Presenter of the Year
Bronze: Anita Hepple, HWD
Silver: Sophie Neville, HR Plymouth
Gold: Ellie Jackson, Harrogate HR

Male Presenter of the Year
Bronze: Ed Payne, Whitechapel AM
Silver: Alex Baker, Radio Chelsea and Westminster
Gold: Adam Ravenscroft, HR Chelmsford

Station of the Year
Bronze: Radio Cherwell
Silver: The Hospital Broadcasting Service
Gold: Hospital Radio Plymouth

Special Award for Outstanding Contribution
Sean Dunderdale

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories