Four more radio licences for South West

Ofcom has awarded another four community radio licences to stations in Cornwall and Devon.

It means that more than 250 community radio stations have now been licensed, with just under 200 of them currently on air.

In the batch announced today, five-year licences are being given to stations in Truro, Penzance, Redruth and Totnes.

It follows the award of three licences to stations in Devon – in Crediton, Exmouth and Barnstaple – only last month.

Today’s new licences are given to:

CHBN (Truro, Cornwall)
CHBN will serve the Truro area. There will be a distinct focus on promoting issues of health, wellbeing and lifestyle topics.

Penwith Radio (Penzance, Cornwall)
Penwith Radio will serve the community of Penzance, Mounts Bay and Penwith in west Cornwall.

Redruth Radio (Redruth, Cornwall)
Redruth Radio will provide a community radio service for Redruth and surrounding villages.

Totnes FM (Totnes, Devon)
Totnes FM will provide a service for the community of Totnes and surrounding villages.

Posted on Friday, May 4th, 2012 at 11:11 am by RadioToday UK

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories