Nominations for Student Radio Awards 2013

The nominations are out for the Student Radio Awards 2013, ahead of the annual ceremony at the indigO2 on the 7th of November, supported by Global Radio and BBC Radio 1.

Best Event or Outside Broadcast

  • Varsity 2013, Xpress Radio
  • Oxford vs Cambridge Women’s Boat Race, Cam FM
  • Calum Macdonald, Fresh Air
  • EdQT Sabbatical Debates, Fresh Air
  • LSR presents The Leadership Race Results Night 2013, Leeds Student Radio
  • Arrival’s Weekend, Cam FM


Best Technical Achievement, supported by BBC Future Media

  • GU2 New Desk and Studio Upgrade Project, 1350AM GU2 Radio
  • New Broadcast Architecture, Shock Radio
  • Show Planner, URY
  • The URN PiStreamer, URN
  • Talkback, URY
  • UK Radioplayer Console and Unified Station Management Application, 1449AM URB


The Student Radio Chart Show Award, supported by BBC Radio 1

  • Fly FM
  • 1350AM GU2 Radio
  • One Media Radio
  • Forge Radio
  • 1449AM URB
  • The Cat 1251


Best Specialist Music Programming, supported by BBC Radio 6Music

  • Jack Saunders, Breakout, Fly FM
  • Ellie Wright World Music, URY
  • Will Metcalf, Fly FM
  • Roya’s Celtic Show, Monster FM
  • Bos Tones, URY
  • The Urban Shift with Temi Jonah, Fly FM


Best Interview, supported by BBC Radio 5 live

  • Miles Kane with Dan Gibson, CSR FM
  • My Anorexia, URN
  • Michael Chessum KCLR Interview, KCL Radio
  • Joel Lewin interviews Simon Darby of the BNP, Cam FM
  • “Music and Food”, Levi Roots at Grillstock, Hub Radio
  • Frank Turner, Shock Radio


Best Speech Programming, supported by BBC Radio 4 and BBC Radio 4 Extra

  • Trimble, URY
  • Doomsday Love Affair: The Future, 107 Spark FM
  • Stop The World – The Story of The Clash, Tone Radio
  • Carl Spurling, Shock Radio
  • The New World Order: Part 2: 1651, URY
  • A Seaside Town, Smoke Radio


Best Journalistic Programming, supported by BBC Radio 1’s Newsbeat

  • Binge Drinking Don, Scratch Radio
  • Twenty years on, the anniversary of the Warrington Bombings, The Cat 1251
  • Trent Talk, Fly FM
  • The Science Show, URN
  • Don’t Say Gay, CamFM
  • The Pulse: Who’s Protecting Who?, URN


Best Entertainment Programme, supported by BBC Radio 4 and BBC Radio 4 Extra

  • The Harry Whittaker Show, URY
  • Late Night Lovin’, Cam FM
  • The Morning Show with Giles Gear, URN
  • Phin’s Barmy Brunch, Cam FM
  • Rush Hour with Neil & Ed, Demon FM
  • Wake and Bake with Laurence & Gareth, Xpression FM


Best Marketing & Station Sound

  • URN
  • Quest Radio
  • Purple Radio
  • Xpression FM
  • RaW 1251AM
  • Fly FM


Best Female, supported by Global Radio

  • Jo Southerd, Xpress Radio
  • Emma Real-Davies, Surge
  • Olivia Jones, 1350AM GU2 Radio
  • Alex Burgess, 107 Spark FM
  • Charlotte Gay, Nerve Radio
  • Emma Jones, Fly FM


Best Male, supported by Global Radio

  • Glen Scott, Pure FM
  • Chris Browning, Xpress Radio
  • Cornelius Mendez, CSR FM
  • Jonny Chambers, 107 Spark FM
  • Danny Fullbrook, Radio LaB 97.1
  • Harry Whittaker, URY


Best Newcomer, supported by The British Council

  • Jamie Lee, 1449AM URB
  • Aoife Allen, BiRST
  • Dom Stirling, 107 Spark FM
  • Harry Whittaker, URY
  • Sophie Hicks, 1350AM GU2 Radio
  • Ben Sheppard, Fly FM


Best Student Radio Station, supported by BBC Radio 1 & 1Xtra

  • Xpress Radio
  • Fly FM
  • RaW 1251AM
  • BiRSt
  • Leeds Student Radio
  • URN


Good luck to everyone nominated, and we’ll see you in London on November 7th.

Posted on Thursday, October 10th, 2013 at 1:14 pm by RadioToday UK

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories