Radio Production Awards winners list 2013

Loftus Media has won the Indie of the Year Award at the 2013 Radio Production Awards, with Mike Hally picking up the first ever Gold Award.

The RPAs, hosted by Classic FM’s Jamie Crick, recognise and celebrate the work of UK based radio and audio producers and are now in their fourth year.

Fourteen awards were handed out in all, including two new categories for 2013 – The Production Hero Award and The Gold Award.

The Production Hero Award, which recognises exceptional achievements made over and above the call of duty went to Chad McKenzie of TBI Media. The judges said: “He has demonstrated a broad range of skills across multiple disciplines which he is clearly utilising to an impressive standard at his current company. He has a bright future ahead of him.”

The Gold Award, designed to celebrate the achievements of an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to radio production in the UK was presented to Mike Hally, the founder of the Radio Independents Group by the BBC’s Director for Radio, Helen Boaden.

Paul Robinson, CEO of The Radio Academy, said: “On behalf of The Radio Academy it is my pleasure and honour to congratulate all of the winners of this year’s RPAs. You are the high achievers in our industry, continually setting new bars for the rest of us to leap over and ensuring that UK listeners are treated to the very best radio productions in the world.”

Phil Critchlow, Chair of the Radio Independents Group (RIG), said: “Another great night at the RPA’s fully acknowledged the best work by the people who actually conceive and deliver content. It also showed that radio certainly continues to inspire, challenge and feed the creative energies of those at the top of their game in our sector.”

The full list of winners is below.

Best Documentary/Feature Maker
Ben Taylor – Snappin’ Turtle Productions

Best Entertainment Producer
David Tyler – Pozzitive

Best Music Entertainment Producer
Tom Whalley – Wise Buddah

Best Live Music Producer/Engineer
Joe Adams – Absolute Radio

Best Podcast/Online Producer
Matt Hill – Freelancer

Best Multi-Platform Creator
Owen Hopkin – Classic FM

Best Drama/Readings Producer
Joby Waldman – Somethin’ Else

Best Newcomer
Isabel Sutton – Just Radio Ltd

Best Creative
Nathan Freeman – BBC Radio 6 Music

Best Sound Designer
Eloise Whitmore – Somethin’ Else

Production Hero Award
Chad McKenzie – TBI Media

Producer of the Year
Eloise Whitmore – Somethin’ Else

Indie Of The Year
Gold: Loftus Media
Silver: USP Content
Bronze: Whistledown Productions

Gold Award
Mike Hally

Posted on Tuesday, November 26th, 2013 at 8:36 pm by RadioToday UK

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories