Student Radio Awards 2013 – the winners

The winners of the Student Radio Awards 2013 have been announced at a lively event in the IndigO2 in London, with hosts Greg James and Dave Berry.
The top award went to URN in Nottingham for Best Station, whilst URN, URY and Fly FM all got six awards each.

BBC Radio 1 breakfast presenter Nick Grimshaw was due to host the awards once again with Dave Berry, but was unable to make it at the last minute.

The event, one of the highlights of the Student Radio calendar, is supported by Global Radio and BBC Radio 1 and included a number of guest hosts from the industry including Tim Westwood, Paul Robinson and Scott Mills.

Controller of BBC Radio 1, Ben Cooper was in the audience, along with Global Radio’s Director of Broadcasting Richard Park.

The awards in full are:

Best Station
BRONZE: Xpress Radio

Best Marketing & Branding

Best Male
GOLD: Glen Scott (Pure FM)
SILVER: Danny Fullbrook (Radio LaB 97.1)
BRONZE: Jonny Chambers (107 Spark FM)

Best Female
GOLD: Emma Jones (Fly FM)
SILVER: Alex Burgess (107 Spark FM)
BRONZE: Emma Real-Davies (Surge) M

Best Newcomer
GOLD: Ben Sheppard (Fly FM)
SILVER: Harry Whittaker ((URY))
BRONZE: Dom Stirling (107 Spark FM)

Best Entertainment
GOLD: The Morning Show with Giles Gear (URN)
SILVER: Wake and Bake with Laurence and Gareth (Xpression FM)
BRONZE: The Harry Whittaker Show – (URY)

Best Interview
GOLD: Joel Lewin interviews Simon Darby of the BNP (CamFM)
SILVER: Anorexia (URN)
BRONZE: Michael Chessum KCLR Interview (KCL Radio)

Best Technical
GOLD: 1449AM URB’s UK Radioplayer Console & Unified Station Management Application (1449AM URB)
SILVER: Show Planner (URY)
BRONZE: New Broadcast Architecture (Shock Radio)

Best OB/Live event
GOLD: LSR Presents the Leadership Race Results Night 2013 (Leeds Student Radio)
SILVER: Varsity 2013 Xpress Radio (Xpress Radio)
BRONZE: EdQT Sabbatical Debates (Fresh Air)

Best Journalistic
GOLD: Trent Talk (Fly FM)
SILVER: The Science Show (URN)
BRONZE: The Pulse: Who’s Protecting Who? (URN)

Best Speech
GOLD: The New World Order: Part 2: 1651 (URY)
SILVER: Trimble (URY)
BRONZE: A Seaside Town (Smoke Radio)

Best Specialist
GOLD: Will Metcalf (Fly FM)
SILVER: Roya’s Celtic Show (Monster FM)
BRONZE: The Urban Shift with Temi Jonah (Fly FM)

Best Chart Show
GOLD: 1449AM URB (for 5th May 2013)
SILVER: 1350AM GU2 Radio
BRONZE: Forge Radio

Kevin Greening Award
GOLD: Phin’s Barmy Brunch (CamFM)
SILVER: Teabagging (BIRSt)
BRONZE: Trimble (URY)

Posted on Thursday, November 7th, 2013 at 10:10 pm by RadioToday UK

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories