Shortlist out for 40th Press Guild awards

LBC 97.3’s Nick Ferrari will go head-to-head with Mishal Husain, the newest presenter of BBC Radio 4’s Today programme, in the voting for the 40th annual Broadcasting Press Guild Awards.

The awards, sponsored by Discovery Channel, will be presented next month at a lunch in central London.

The news presenters are both shortlisted for the BPG’s Radio Broadcaster of the Year award, together with Jarvis Cocker, for his programmes on BBC Radio 4 and BBC 6 Music, and Cerys Matthews, of BBC 6 Music.

BBC Radio 4 has all four nominations for the Radio Programme of the Year. The Long View is shortlisted alongside The Russian Gambler, Tweet of the Day and Woman’s Hour.

The BPG Awards, sponsored by Discovery Channel for the second consecutive year, are selected independently by journalists who write about TV and radio – correspondents, critics and previewers. The radio awards are selected by a panel with a specialist interest in radio.

The full list of radio nominations is:

Radio Programme of the Year

The Long View (BBC Radio 4)

The Russian Gambler (BBC Radio 4)

Tweet of the Day (BBC Radio 4)

Woman’s Hour (BBC Radio 4)


Radio Broadcaster of the Year

Jarvis Cocker (BBC Radio 4 & BBC 6 Music)

Nick Ferrari (LBC 97.3)

Mishal Husain (BBC Radio 4)

Cerys Matthews (BBC 6 Music)


The Harvey Lee Award for Outstanding Contribution to Broadcasting will be announced on the day.

Posted on Thursday, February 27th, 2014 at 12:00 am by RadioToday UK

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories