Sandford St Martin Awards 2015 open for entries

Radio stations are being invited to enter the Sandford St Martin Awards for 2015.

They are billed as the UK’s most prestigious broadcast awards for radio, TV and online content exploring religious, spiritual or ethical themes. Entries are welcome from people working across the broadcast media – producers, broadcasters, online content creators and publishers.

The new Children’s Award is for broadcast content specifically aimed at under-18s which improves young people’s understanding of religion, or, which introduces them to moral or ethical issues.

Sandford trustee and broadcaster Roger Bolton, said: “At a time when religion is once again central to world and British politics, and to our culture and that of immigrant communities, it’s critical that children and young people are exposed to imaginative works that open their eyes to the world they share and the beliefs people hold.”

The following award categories are now open for entries:

• Sandford St Martin Trust Children’s Award
• Sandford St Martin Trust Television Award
• Sandford St Martin Trust Radio Award

The 2015 Awards, worth around £10,000, will be presented at Lambeth Palace in May 2015 at a ceremony attended by broadcasters, journalists and programme-makers as well as representatives of different faiths.

Previous winners have included Professor Simon Schama, Danny Boyle, Ian Hislop, Howard Jacobson, David Suchet, Rageh Omaar, Olivia Colman, Tom Hollander, Sally Magnusson, Tony Robinson and Rabbi Lord Jonathan Sacks.

Speaking about the awards the Rt Revd Nick Baines, Bishop of Leeds and Chair of the Trust, said: “Never in my lifetime has there been a more critical need for religious literacy amongst policy-makers, journalists and individuals. We want to use our awards to reward and encourage programmes that explore the complex world we live in, that draw out the implications for governments and individuals, while also deepening understanding and supporting partnerships between communities and neighbours.”

In 2015 the Trust is waiving the entry fee with the aim of widening access to the Awards to a wider range of those now creating audio and visual content about religion, ethics and spirituality.

Entries for the 2015 Awards must have been broadcast for the first time between 1 February 2014 and 31 January 2015 and the deadline for entries is Friday 13 February 2015.

Entry forms and full criteria for the awards are available on the website.

Posted on Thursday, December 4th, 2014 at 12:21 pm by RadioToday

You might also like

Comments are closed.