Hospital Radio Awards 2015 – Nominations

The nominations are out for this year’s National Hospital Radio Awards.

They were released at midnight, with a special New Year announcement made on the official HBA website by Patron, Radio 2s, Alan Dedicoat.

Radio Tyneside tops the short list, with nominations in seven categories, including Best Specialist Music Programme where its Geordie Hour is aiming to hold on to the Gold it won last year. The station’s also aiming for the hat trick in the Best Special Event Award, having won Gold for the last two years.

Radio Glamorgan has six nominations, with The Celtic Girls aiming to hold on to the Gold awarded last year to Glamorgan’s Nic Clarke and the Daydreamers in the Best Programme with Multiple Presenters Category.

Plymouth Hospital Radio is once again nominated for Station of the Year, having won the top prize at last year’s ceremony, while newcomer Auckland Hospital Radio, from County Durham, finds itself nominated in five categories.

The ceremony is again being produced by Lincs FM’s Sean Dunderdale and his Scunthorpe Hospital Radio colleague Iain Lee. It’s the 8th year and final year they’ll have produced the awards for the Hospital Broadcasting Association and are promising to end on a high at the ceremony in Newcastle at the end of March, when the Bronze, Silver and Gold winners will be revealed for the nine categories as well as the winners of the annual Fundraiser of the Year and John Whitney Award.

The full list of nominations:

Best Station Promotion
CHBN – New Members
HospitaL Radio Bedside – The Non Stop Geek Show
Merthyr Hospital Radio – Groovy Biscuits
Radio Brockley – The Thursday Experience
Radio Cavell – Stop Smoking Health Information
Radio Grapevine – Strictly Pick n Mix
Radio Tyneside – The Afternoon Show
Radio Wishing Well – Listen for Free on the NHS
Watford Hospital Radio – New Volunteers
Whipps Cross Hospital Radio – Whipps Cross Zoo

Best Specialist Music Programme
Auckland Hospital Radio – Soundtrack Sunday
Bridge FM – Nashville Country
Castle Mead Radio – Irish Music Programme
Grampian Hospital Radio – Another Opening, Another Show
Hospital Radio Chelmsford – Great American County
Hospital Radio Plymouth – Just for the Record
Radio Glamorgan – The Beatles
Radio Redhill – Songs That Won The War
Radio Tyneside – The Geordie Hour
Radio Wey – The Asian Show

Best Special Event
Auckland Hospital Radio – Locomotion, the Great Goodbye
Bay Trust Radio – Kendal Torchlight Carnival
CHBN – Truro Day
Choice Radio – Brown Trousers and the Fireman’s Hose
Radio Brockley – Charity Bike Ride
Radio Glamorgan – Cardiff Half Marathon
Radio Redhill – Bluebell Railway
Radio Stitch – 12-45 Sunflowers
Radio Tyneside – The Great North Run 2014, the One Millionth Runner
Scunthorpe Hospital Radio – 35 Live.

Best Speech Package
Auckland Hospital Radio – Macmillan Weekend
Harlow Hospital Radio – the Epping to Ongar Railway
Nottingham Hospital Radio – D Day, 70 Years On
Radio Frimley Park – Squadren Leader Interview
Radio Redhill – World War One Remembered
Radio Tyneside – The Fairly Truthful Guide to Geordie
Radio Wey – Friday Night Sportscene
Scunthorpe Hospital Radio – Morton Primary School
Whipps Cross Hospital Radio – Whipps Cross at War
Winchester Hospital Radio – King Alfred Buses

Best Newcomer
Aiden Carter, Ridgeway Radio
Alison Sweatman, Radio Cherwell
Anas Hassan, Victoria Radio Network
Byron Brain, Radio Glamorgan
Jake Garner, Nottingham Hospital Radio
Joe Pilbrow, Radio Cherwell
Paul Munro ,Radio Grapevine
Rebecca Braybrook, Hospital Radio Chelmsford
Ruth Stapleton, Auckland Hospital Radio
Mark Field, Harrogate Hospital Radio

Best Programme with Multiple Presenters
Harlow Hospital Radio – JAM Session
Hospital Radio Basingstoke – Dave Warren and Christine Rowley
Hospital Radio Chelmsford – Two Little Dicky Birds
Hospital Radio Plymouth – Requestline
Radio Cherwell – Ward Bingo
Radio Glamorgan – The Celtic Girls
Radio Northwick Park – The Saturday Request Show
Radio Tyneside – The Just The Tonic Barbeque
Ridgeway Radio – The Kingfisher Club
Watford Hospital Radio – The Dawn and Debbie Show

Best Female Presenter
Angela Goulder, Watford Hospital Radio
Anita Hepple, HWD
Asha Jhummu, Hospital Radio Chelmsford
Carol Hutchison, Inverness Hospital Radio
Christine Rowley, Hospital Radio Basingstoke
Doreen Newman-Holden, Bay Trust Radio
Ellie Jackson, Harrogate Hospital Radio
Marge Walker, Radio Brockley
Tamsin Robson, Radio Tyneside
Mandy Morrow, Radio Wey

Best Male Presenter
Alan Sword, Hospital Radio Chelmsford
Emile Franchi, Radio Tyneside
Jamie Pritchard, Radio Glamorgan
Joe Pilbrow, Radio Cherwell
Jon Andrews, Radio Wey
Martin Fretwell, Harrogate Hospital Radio
Pete Phillips, Choice Radio
Rajiv Hasan, Nottingham Hospital Radio
Rhodri Buttrick, Hospital Radio Reading
Tony McNab, Radio Northwick Park

Station of the Year 2015
Auckland Hospital Radio
Bay Trust Radio
Choice Radio
Harrogate Hospital Radio
Hospital Radio Basingstoke
Plymouth Hospital Radio
Radio Brockley
Radio Glamorgan
Scunthorpe Hospital Radio

Posted on Sunday, January 4th, 2015 at 10:57 pm by RadioToday UK

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories