Shortlist out for Frank Gillard Awards 2016

BBC Radio Merseyside leads the nominations for this year’s BBC Local Radio Frank Gillard Awards.

The Liverpool-based station is nominated in five categories, including Station of the Year.

19 of the 39 local radio stations in England are nominated, with four for Lancashire and Coventry & Warwickshire, and three nods each for BBC Radio Leeds and Oxford. BBC Radio Sheffield, Newcastle, Cambridgeshire, Hereford & Worcester and BBC Tees all got two each.

BBC Radio Devon, Humberside, York, Bristol, Gloucestershire, Sussex, Manchester, Leicester and Solent all received one each.

The awards will be announced at an event in Newcastle on November 10th hosted by last year’s Station of the Year winner, BBC Radio Newcastle.

Here are all the nominations:

Best Breakfast Show

Liz Green – BBC Radio Leeds
Toby Foster – BBC Radio Sheffield
Georgey Spanswick – BBC Radio York

Best Mid-Morning

Anna Foster – BBC Newcastle
Kat Orman – BBC Radio Oxford
Rony Robinson – BBC Radio Sheffield

Best Programme Presenter(s)

Richard Lewis & Team – BBC Radio Bristol & BBC Somerset
Jeremy Sallis – BBC Radio Cambridgeshire
Kate Clark – BBC Radio Gloucestershire

Original Journalism

BBC Hereford & Worcester
Hillsborough: Trevor and Jenni’s Journey – BBC Radio Merseyside
Philippa Goymer – BBC Newcastle

Coverage of a News Story

The Death of Jo Cox MP – BBC Radio Leeds Hillsborough Inquests: The Verdicts
BBC Radio Merseyside – The Shoreham Air Disaster
BBC Sussex

Journalist of the Year

Richard Stead – BBC Radio Manchester
Serena Martin – BBC Radio Oxford
Andy Bell – BBC Tees


Shakespeare Street Romeo & Juliet – BBC Coventry & Warwickshire
Floods – BBC Radio Cumbria
Focus on Fleetwood – BBC Radio Lancashire

Digital (Innovation)

Coventry Blitz 75 – BBC Coventry & Warwickshire
BBC Radio Lancashire
BBC Radio Oxford


Tour of Britain – BBC Radio Lancashire
Leicester City’s Premiership Win – BBC Radio Leicester
Southampton’s FA Cup win 40 years on – BBC Radio Solent

Best Programme

Remembering the Forgotten Army – BBC Radio Cambridgeshire
Hull’s Song for Europe – BBC Radio Humberside
Trevor & Jenni’s Journey – BBC Radio Merseyside


BBC Radio Lancashire – Stabbed at School
BBC Radio Leeds
BBC Radio Merseyside

Excellence in Production

BBC Coventry and Warwickshire – Devon’s WWII
BBC Radio Devon
BBC Tees

Station Of The Year

BBC Coventry & Warwickshire
BBC Hereford & Worcestershire
BBC Radio Merseyside

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories