Shortlist out for the Community Radio Awards

The finalists for the independent, not for profit Community Radio Awards have been revealed ahead of the ceremony on Saturday September 10, at Birmingham City University.

The inaugural awards were open to those involved with any Ofcom licensed community radio station, with 235 entries received from stations up and down the country.

Awards chair Martin Steers: “The judges who were involved in the process were absolutely fantastic. They have told me they were completely overwhelmed by the quality and variety of awards submitted.

“I am genuinely impressed by the effort and dedication that has gone into these submissions and can’t wait to bring so many people together to celebrate and recognise the fantastic work of the community radio sector.”

Tickets and more details here.

Community Development Project of the Year
Academy FM 105.9 – The Motiv8 Project
Calon FM – Homelessness and recovery in Wrexham
CRS – The Youth Academy
Pure 107.8 FM – One Voice Community Development Project
Ujima Radio – Green and Black Project

Station of the Year
Angel Radio
Oldham Community Radio
Raidió Fáilte
Resonance FM
Tameside Radio
Ujima Radio

Female Presenter of the Year
Academy FM 105.9 – Kay McLoughlin
Tameside Radio – Louise Croombs
Tulip Radio – Elizabeth Padgett
Ujima Radio – Primrose
Vibe 107.6 – Nia Visser

Male Presenter of the Year
Point FM – Craig K
Pure 107.8 FM – Paul Holloway
Redroad FM – Aaron Outram
Spark FM – Michael Oakes
Switch Radio 107.5 – Ben Ellis

Community Show of the Year
East Coast FM – The School Bell
HCR FM – 21st Century Women
Meridian FM – Small Business Saturday
Salford City Radio – Jewish Hour
Tameside Radio – Lunchtime with Louise

Live Event or Outside Broadcast of the Year
Calon FM – Focus Wales Take Over 2016
East Coast FM – Truckfest, Rail Journey, Airshow
Insanity Radio – Royal Holloway Science Festival 2016
Meridian FM – General Election Special
WCR – General Election Debate

Entertainment Show of the Year
Flame CCR – The Hashtag Forward Slash Show
Point FM – The BIGGEST Afternoon Radio Show on the North Wales Coast
SFM – Saturday Breakfast with Jason McCrossan
Spark FM – The Early Afternoon Show with Richie Lee
Spark FM – Tom & Alex

Speech & Journalism of the Year
Oldham Community Radio – A chance to meet Bryn Hughes (Father of PC Nicola Hughes)
Radio Reverb – Jaibli Salaam
Salford City Radio – The Sufiya Rehman Show
Spark FM – Both sides of dying
Spark FM – Young and secure

Arts & Creative Radio of the Year
Academy FM 105.9 – Between the Storms
Meridian FM – The Proms ‘A community celebration’
Radio Cardiff – Sophia Square
Spark FM – ArtyParti
WCR – A Christmas Carol

Specialist Music Show of the Year
Shortlist to follow due to large number of entries

Sports Show of the Year
Pure 107.8 FM
Somer Valley FM
Soundart Radio
Spark FM

Marketing & Station Sound of the Year
Angel Radio
BRFM 95.6
Cambridge 105 FM
Drystone Radio

Volunteer of the Year
CSR – Aaron Cross
East Coast FM – Ian Robertson
Switch Radio – Ben Ellis
Tameside Radio – Louise Croombs
WCR – Barry Mole

Young Person of the Year
Academy FM 105.9 – Lee Churchyard
Drystone Radio – P.J. Hitchcock
Spark FM – Tyler Selby
Switch Radio – Terri-Anne Coope
Takeover Radio – Connor O’Grady

Technical Achievement of the Year
East Coast FM – Dale Brown’s Dynovox
Flame CCR – Medium Wave Antenna
Switch Radio – BrumDAB Small Scale DAB
Tameside Radio – Outside Broadcast Kit

Innovation Award of the Year
Academy FM 105.9 – The Folkestone Status
CSR – The Youth Academy
East Coast FM – Dale Brown’s Dynovox
Meridian FM – 10 Hour Election Results Show
Spark FM – White Market Podcast

Need a new or improved logo for your radio station? Visit OhMy.Graphics and see how awesome you can look.
Posted on Thursday, September 1st, 2016 at 12:24 pm by RadioToday UK

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories
buy metformin metformin online