Community Radio Awards 2018 shortlist announced

The finalists for the Community Radio Awards 2018 are out, which attracted more than 360 entries from over 75 stations.

The awards will be handed out at an event in Sheffield next month.

Here’s the list in full:

Community Development Project of the Year

Ribble FM – The Grand Schools Radio Project
Sheppey FM – Mental Health Community Project
Somer Valley FM – The METS Training programme
Ujima Radio – Ujima Radio Elevates! More Than Just a Radio Station
Vectis Radio – The 4Ps Project

Station of the Year

Drystone Radio
Raidió Fáilte
Ribble FM
Spark Sunderland

Female Presenter of the Year

Erewash Sound – Emma Snow
Ipswich Community Radio – Fiona Jessica Wilson (aka FJ)
Radio Cardiff – Louise Schofield
Wycombe Sound – Philippa Sawyer
Zetland FM – Julie Donaldson

Male Presenter of the Year

Black Country Radio – Dan Richards
Erewash Sound – Mark Jarvis
Voice FM – Simon Wilson
Wycombe Sound – Rob L’Esperance
Wycombe Sound – Luke Davis

Community Show of the Year

BCfm Radio – The One Love Breakfast Show
Chorley FM – Chorley FM’s ‘Kids Sing Christmas’ Special Community Show 2017
East Coast FM – Pol.ON – The Polish Show
Spark Sunderland – ArtyParti
Tameside Radio – Tameside Today

Live Event or Outside Broadcast of the Year

107 Meridian FM ‘Spirit of Wildfire’ – A Festival for Radio
Chelmsford Community Radio – General Election 2017
Marlow FM – Pub in the Park
MônFM – MônFM Live from the Eisteddfod
Wycombe Sound – Local Radio Day 2018

Entertainment Show of the Year

Erewash Sound – Emma Snow
Spark Sunderland – Drivetime with Ryan and Beth
Tameside Radio – The Show That Time Forgot with Mike Wallbank
Wycombe Sound – The Rob L’Esperance Jukebox
Wycombe Sound – The Emperor’s Bits

Speech & Journalism of the Year

Radio Cabin 94.6 FM – Opening of the Herne Centre
CSR – Dear Reader with Jessica Stone
Radio Cardiff – Cardiff This Week
Radio Verulam – The Parents’ Show
Wycombe Sound – Have Your Say: Unitary Authority

Arts & Creative Radio of the Year

CSR – Dear Reader
Huntingdon Community Radio (HCR104fm) – Huntsford
MônFM – MônFM Focus Wales Coverage
Radio LaB – Devolved
Spark Sunderland – ArtyParti

Specialist Music Show of the Year

Alive Radio – Country in my Veins – Ali Donowho
ALL FM – The Innocent Ear – Classical Music with Rocks in!
Radio Cardiff – Birdland
Spark Sunderland – Dance Revolution Chart of the Year 2017
Wycombe Sound – The Sunday Tea Dance

Sports Show of the Year

107 Meridian FM – The Meridian Sports Show
Black Country Radio – Live Commentary – FA Cup – Birmingham Senior Cup
Radio Cardiff – OB’s Saturday Sport Show, Radio Cardiff – 2018
Spark Sunderland – Sportsbyte Spark Sunderland
Wycombe Sound – Tuesday Night Sport

Volunteer of the Year

Drystone Radio – Oliver Wilkinson
East Coast FM – Ian Robertson
KCC Live – Oliver Downing
Radio Tamworth – Alex Farrell
Switch Radio – Terri-Anne Coope

Young Person of the Year (under 25)

Erewash Sound Mark Jarvis
Erewash Sound Jeannie Nicolas
KCC Live Brad Ferguson
Tameside Radio James O’Malley
Wycombe Sound Liam Gates

Sage Person (Over 60)

Awaz FM – Manjulika Singh
Black Diamond FM – Bill Prentice
Endeavour FM – Chris Moore
Ribble FM – Hughie Parr
Wythenshawe Community Radio – Roz Johnson

Newcomer (new to radio in last 12 months)

Drystone Radio – Jane Steele
Erewash Sound – Jeannie Nicolas
Ribble FM – Tom Watts
Sheppey FM – Abbie Clive
Wycombe Sound – Mimi Harker OBE

Innovation Award

Academy FM Folkestone – ‘Get On’ – Science Education & Community Radio
Chorley FM – The Chorley FM ‘100 Club’ – A Business Club with a Difference!
Phoenix FM – Halifax – The Halifax Jigsaw Project
Somer Valley FM – The METS Training Programme
Wycombe Sound – Listen Again

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Similar Stories